Alumni E-News Logo

The Official On-line Source for News

About Alumni Leaders in our Community


Patty McBain '01, '05 - Director of Alumni Relations

5201 University Blvd. KL-261, Laredo, Texas 78041-1900 - 956.326.2175


Alums in the News

Rose Sale May 2006

The traditional Rose Sale during commencement was a great Rose Salesuccess thanks to the dedication and hard work of its committee members headed by Gloria Madrigal.  The total amount raised during the May graduation was $1,610.  Our thanks to all the volunteers who helped not only clean and prepare the roses, but made use of their sales expertise to sell every rose bouquet.  Our appreciation to Marta Garcia '86, Perla Nieto '01,Rose Sale May 2006 Jessica Palacios '03, Olga Cantu '99, Azeneth Reyes '05, Henry P. Flores '72, Marcus Moreno '92, Jorge Morales '99 and his two very handsome boys, Alex, and Steven and close friend Itzel Luna.   If you are interested in volunteering for the December 2006 Commencement Rose Sale, call Gloria Madrigal at (956) 790-8020 or e-mail


The Rose Sale is one of the fundraising activities the TAMIU Alumni Association holds to continue its mission of supporting TAMIU students with scholarships.

Alumni Relations Home
Newsletter Home
Alums in the News
Campus News
In Memoriam
Prism on line
Register for E-news
Send A Postcard
Update My Info
Volunteer Opportunities
Walk of Fame

Alum Gatherings

Crystal City/Carrizo Springs Alumni Gathering

Crystal City/Carrizo Springs area gathering met on May 4, at Richardo’s Restaurant.  Crystal City, “Spinach Capital of World,” is the county seat of Zavala County. 

Crystal City/Carrizo Springs Alumni Gathering - May 4, 2006In 1945 the California Packing Corporation, later the Del Monte Corporation, built an extensive canning plant just northwest of Crystal City. Since that time it has been the largest single employer in the area.

Present:  Sitting from left to right – Mrs. David Castillo, Mrs. Alejandro Martinez, Alejandro Martinez ’75, and Richard Maldonado ’74.

Standing from left to right are: Alejandro Marquez ’75, David Castillo ’72, Javier Castañeda ’05, Patty G. McBain ’01, director of alumni relations, David Nelson ’79 and Mrs. David Nelson.


Miami Alumni Gathering Miami Alumni Gathering May 4, 2006

Miami area alums met on May 4 with executive director of development, BJ Mathieu at Zoyka’s Restaurant on Biscayne Blvd. 

Present:  Sitting form left to right – Jose L. Cervantes, Patsy Aguirre ’02, John Alaster Love ’03 and              Lucero S. Love ’03, and BJ Mathieu.

Thank you so much to all of you who made time from your busy schedules to meet with us.  We really enjoyed the company!!


Engagements, Weddings, Baby Announcements and Anniversaries

Lety Merla and Javier A. Campos


Leticia A. Merla ’02 and Javier Alejandro Campos were united in marriage Saturday, March 11, 2006.



Lydia L. Avalos and Arturo Trevino



Lydia Lizeth Avalos ’04, and Arturo Trevino exchanged wedding vows in May.



Annette M. Elizondo and Andres H. Gonzalez

Annette M. Elizondo and Andres H. Gonzalez ’02 have set their wedding date for July 8, 2006.

Have You Seen?

B. Rama Raju '83 is the chief executive officer of Satyam Computer Services Limited.  He is B. Rama Rajupassionate about improving the standards of education in rural areas.

In a milestone achievement, Satyam grossed U.S.$ 1 billion in revenues to become one of the youngest companies to do so. Commenting on the results Satyam co-founder and chairman, B. Ramalinga Raju said: "I am pleased to report that our performance exceeded the guidance in the fourth quarter. It is with a sense of great pride and joy that I report Satyam's entry into the billion dollar club. Achieving this significant landmark has been possible by the support received from our customers and investors and the hard work of our associates." Click here to read more....


Elaine C. Ibarra


Elaine C. Ibarra '92, a health science technology teacher at Dr. Leo G. Cigarroa High School who after working for eight years in the health industry found her passion for health science and technology a source of motivation that could help students succeed in a health related career. 

Sandra P. Jimenez



Sandra P. Jimenez '00, began as a student at D.D. Hachar Elementary where her teachers instilled in her a love for learning and inspired her to achieve high goals.



2006 School Bell Awards


We congratulate Edna D. Noriega ’90, Cynthia G. Conchas ’71, and Dr. Thomas Vaughan from TAMIU as 2006 Laredo Chamber of Commerce School Bell Awards winners.



Alma Martinez


This year's recipient of the Wal-Mart Teacher of the Year Award is Mrs. Alma Martinez, a fourth-grade teacher from Arndt Elementary School.


Marissa Garza



Marissa Garza ’95 is the Texas A&M International University 2006 Bilingual Teacher of the Year for the United Independent School District.



Gabriela L. Brondo


Gabriela L. Brondo ’06 is the Distinguished Student Scholar at Texas A&M International University for Spring 2006.  Ms. Brondo earned a Bachelor’s of Business Administration and graduated Summa Cum Laude.


Larry Sanchez


Shortage of jobs? Not for multi-tasker Larry Sanchez ’74, who puts in 80 hours a week between his work at KGNS, South Texas Workforce Development Board, and Office Depot.


Kent Pearson


Kent Pearson is an attorney at one of the largest business law firms in the Southwest, Winstead Sechrest & Minick.  Kent earned his MBA-IT in 1994 and his J.D. and BBA from the University of Texas at Austin.



Norma TrevinoDavid Garcia

Congratulations are in order for your promotions!

Norma P. Trevino ’03, and David Garcia ’03, they recently joined Laredo National Bank as Audit Officers in the Audit Department.


Congratulations to our law enforcement officers

Agustin Dovalina                             Fernando Lozano                           Sheriff Rick Flores, Police Chief Agustin Dovalina and Fernando Lozano

Agustin Dovalina III ’96, ’02     Fernando Lozano ’00                Rick Flores ’93, ’97

Laredo Chief of Police             Supervisor of the Year              Webb County Sheriff

Ricardo Acosta


The sheriff awarded plaques to many employees. Eleven officials - including Capt. Ricardo Acosta (left), who passed away due to a heart attack on March 13, at the age of 56 - received the Sheriff's Award. Capt. Acosta along with thirty-four others were awarded Meritorious Service Awards, nine received the Civilian Service Award and five garnered the Reserves Commendation Award.

Return to top of page

TAMIU Home | Map | Directory | Feedback | SACS Reaffirmation | Compact with Texans | Accessibility Policy

                                   Privacy Statement | Site Map | Contact the Webmaster

    Texas A&M International University - 5201 University Blvd. - Laredo, TX 78041 - Phone 956.326.2001
©2005 All Rights Reserved