Erle Nye, Vice Chairman

Erle Nye of Dallas is chairman of the board and chief executive of TXU (formerly Texas Utilities Company).  He is also chairman and chief executive of TXU Energy, Oncor Electric Delivery, TXU Gas, TXU Australia and TXU Corporation.  Mr. Nye holds a Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering from Texas A&M University, a Juris Doctor from Southern Methodist University and a Doctor of Science, Honoris Causa from the Baylor College of Dentistry.  His experience has been in the engineering, financial, legal, operations and regulatory areas.


Mr. Nye is past chairman of the Texas A&M University College of Engineering External Advisory and Development Council.  He serves on the Texas A&M Development Foundation Advisory Committee and is a member of the Chancellor's Century Council.  Mr. Nye is a member of the Development Council of the University of Texas at Dallas and was chairman of the board of Baylor College of Dentistry.  He serves on the executive boards for the Cox School of Business and the School of Law; serves on the Executive Advisory Council of the Maguire Center for Ethics Policy and Public Responsibility; and is past chair of the Board of Directors for the Tate Lecture Series for Southern Methodist University.


Mr. Nye serves on the boards of Boys & Girls Clubs of America, the Dallas Museum of Art,

The State Fair of Texas and North Texas Public Broadcasting.  He is also a member of the Dallas Committee on Foreign Relations, the Salvation Army's Dallas County Advisory Board, the YWCA Metropolitan Dallas Advisory Board and the Dallas Symphony CEO Council.  Mr. Nye is a member and past co-chair of the Dallas Together Forum and a member of the Governor's Business Council.


Mr. Nye serves on the board of directors of the Edison Electric Institute and is chairman of the board of the Electric Power Research Institute.  He is co-chair of the CEO Task Force on Critical Infrastructure Protection and past chairman of the North American Electric Reliability Council, the Electric Reliability council of Texas and of the Nuclear Energy Institute.  Mr. Nye served on the Advisory Committee to the President's Commission on Critical Infrastructure Protection and the U.S. Department of Energy's Electric System Reliability Task Force.  He was appointed by President George Bush to the National Infrastructure Advisory Council.  He is a registered professional engineer and a member of local, state and American bar associations.


Mr. Nye was named the 1999 Humanitarian of the Year by the American Jewish Committee, received the 1998 Distinguished Citizen Award from the Longhorn Council of Boy Scouts of America and was a 1998 Father of the Year Award Winner.  He received the C.W. Conn Distinguished New Venture Leader Award from the Mays College and Graduate School of Business in 2001.  Mr. Nye received the 2002 Robert G. Storey Award from SMU and the 2002 Texas Association of Business Distinguished Leader Award.


Mr. Nye was appointed to the Board of Regents by Governor George W. Bush in 1997 and reappointed by Governor Rick Perry in 2003.  He was elected Chairman of the Board in May 2001, serving for two years.  Mr. Nye was elected Vice Chairman of the Board in April 2003.  He serves as chairman of the Committee on Buildings and Physical Plant and as member of the Committee on Finance.  Mr. Nye serves as a member of the Presidential Library Committee, the Policy Review Committee, the Public Policy and Planning Committee, the Committee on Educational Access Committee and is the Board’s special liaison to the Texas A&M Foundation.  Mr. Nye has served as chairman of the Presidential Library Committee and the Committee on Finance and as a member of the Committee on Buildings and Physical Plant, the Legislative Committee, Health Sciences Committee and the Policy Review Committee.  His term expires February 1, 2009.

Revised 10/21/2003