Texas A&M International University
College of Arts and Sciences
5201 University Boulevard
Laredo, Texas 78041-1900

Non-Profit U.S. Postage PAID Laredo, Texas 78041 Permit No. 231 **Texas A&M International University** 

# A.R. SANCHEZ, SR. Distinguished Lecture Series 2013

### MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE

Ray Keck,\* President

Thomas Mitchell, Dean, College of Arts and Sciences

Jerry Thompson, Regents Professor, College of Arts and Sciences

Rex Ball, Professor, Department of Social Science

Frank Guerra, Executive Vice President, Sanchez Oil and Gas Corporation

David Almaraz, Attorney-at-Law

Tom Vaughan,
Associate Professor,
Department of Biology and Chemistry

Manuel Broncano, Professor, Department of Language and Literature

A. R. Sanchez, Jr.,\*
Chairman of the Board,
Sanchez Oil and Gas Corporation

### ABOUT THIS SERIES

The Texas A&M International University
Distinguished Lecture Series honors Antonio R.
Sanchez, Sr. (1916-1992). After 20 years as the owner of an office equipment business, Sanchez began buying oil and gas leases and used his earnings to establish a bank. Sanchez, along with his son, A.R. Sanchez, Jr. and geologist Brian O'Brien, established the Sanchez-O'Brien Oil and Gas Corporation. Under his leadership as chairman, the International Bank of Commerce grew to become the International Bancshares Corporation, with branches in more than 90 communities throughout Texas and Oklahoma.

A. R. Sanchez, Sr. is best remembered in Laredo for his philanthropic efforts. Known for his work ethic and generosity, he was a major crusader for a four-year University in Laredo and a supporter of the Mexican American Legal Defense and Education Fund. This lecture series is presented through the vision and generosity of Mr. and Mrs. A. R. Sanchez, Jr.

## THE RESERVE OF THE PARTY OF THE

### For additional information on

The A. R. Sanchez, Sr. Distinguished Lecture Series, please contact Texas A&M International University's College of Arts and Sciences Office of the Dean, 956.326.2460 visit offices in the Lamar Bruni Vergara Science Center, room 301 e-mail hdennis@tamiu.edu or click on tamiu.edu HAL HOLBROOK

Mark Twain Tonight!

Thursday, Jan. 31, 2013

TAMIU Center for the Fine and Performing Arts

RECITAL HALL 7 P.M.



Harold Rowe "Hal" Holbrook, Jr. (born February 17, 1925) is an American actor. His television roles include Abraham Lincoln in the 1976 TV series *Lincoln*, Hays Stowe on *The Bold Ones: The Senator* and Capt. Lloyd Bucher on *Pueblo*. He has performed the one-man show as Mark Twain since

1954.

According to *Playbill*, Holbrook's first solo performance as Twain was at Lock Haven State Teachers College in Pennsylvania in 1954. Ed Sullivan saw him and gave Holbrook his first national exposure on his February 12, 1956 show.

In 1967, Mark Twain Tonight was presented on television by CBS and Xerox, and Holbrook received an Emmy for his performance. Holbrook's Twain first played on Broadway in 1966, and again in 1977 and 2005; Holbrook was 80 years old during his most recent Broadway run, older (for the first time) than the character he was portraying. He won a Tony Award for the performance in 1966. Mark Twain Tonight has repeatedly toured the country in what as of 2005 had amounted to over 2000 performances. He has portrayed Twain longer than Samuel Langhorne Clemens did.

He appeared in Sean Penn's critically acclaimed film *Into the Wild* (2007) and received an Oscar nomination for Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role at the 80th Academy Awards. This renders Holbrook, at age 82, the oldest nominee in Academy Award history in the Best Supporting Actor category.

Holbrook's latest films are *Water for Elephants* (2011), Steven Spielberg's *Lincoln* (2012), and Gus Van Sant's *Promised Land* (2012).

#### ABOUT THE PERFORMANCE

Mark Twain Tonight! Is a one-man play devised by Hal Holbrook, in which he depicts Mark Twain giving a dramatic recitation selected from several of his (Twain's) writings, with an emphasis on the comic ones. However, a lengthy excerpt from Adventures of Huckleberry Finn is always included.

\*ex officio