Skip to content
x
  
  

Faculty and Staff

Dr. Manganaro
 Interim Chair

Dr. Lynne L. Manganaro

Associate Professor of Public Administration
Canseco Hall 304B 
(956) 326-2617
lynne.manganaro@tamiu.edu


Criminal Justice

Dr. San Miguel
Dr. Claudia E. San Miguel

Dean
Associate Professor
LBV 301A
(956) 326-2460
csanmiguel@tamiu.edu

Dr. Bernat

Dr. Frances P. Bernat

Professor
LBVSC 301C
(956) 326-2644
frances.bernat@tamiu.edu

Dr. Zawisza
Dr. Thomas T. Zawisza

Assistant Professor
CH 302G
(956) 326-2476
thomas.zawisza@tamiu.edu

Dr. kate Houston
Dr. Kate A. Houston
Assistant Professor
CH 302C
(956) 326-2630
kate.houston@tamiu.edu
http://www.katehouston.com


Flor Hernandez

Ms. Flor Mayela Hernandez

 Visiting Instructor
CH 313M
(956) 326-2667
flor.hernandez@tamiu.edu

Dr. Alexis Harper
Dr. Alexis Harper

Assistant Professional   
CNS 302L
(956) 326-2478
alexis.harper@tamiu.edu

Dr. Fei Luo
Dr. Fei Luo

Assistant Professor   
CNS 302C
(956) 326-2622
fei.luo@tamiu.edu

Political Science

Dr. Jack Byham
Dr. Jack C. Byham
Assistant Professor
CH 302H
(956) 326-2632
jack.byham@tamiu.edu

Dr. James Norris
Dr. James A. Norris
Associate Professor
CH 313E
(956) 326-2607
jnorris@tamiu.edu

Dr. Simon Zschirnt
Dr. Simon Zschirnt
Assistant Professor
CH 313B
(956) 326-2619
simon.zschirnt@tamiu.edu

Dr. Alfonso Vergaray
Dr. Alfonso R. Vergaray
Assistant Professional    
CNS 313M
(956) 326-2604
alfonso.vergaray@tamiu.edu

Public Administration

Dr. Peter Haruna
Dr. Peter F. Haruna

Professor
CH 313J
(956) 326-2613
pharuna@tamiu.edu

Dr. Lynne Managanaro
Dr. Lynne L. Manganaro
Associate Professor
CH 313H
(956) 326-2617
lynne.manganaro@tamiu.edu

Dr. Mehnaaz Momen
Dr. Mehnaaz Momen

Associate Professor
CH 313F
(956) 326-2631
mmomen@tamiu.edu

 
Dr. Heriberto Urby
Dr. Heriberto Urby Jr.

Visiting Assistant Professor
CH 313D
(956) 326-2528
heriberto.urby@tamiu.edu

Dr. Maria Reyes
Dr. Maria A. Reyes

Assistant Professional
CH 313M
(956) 326-2540
maria.reyes@tamiu.edu

Dr. Wanzhu Shi
DR. WANZHU SHI

Visiting Assistant Professor
CH 313D
(956) 326-2528 
wanzhu.shi@tamiu.edu

 

Sociology

Dr. marcus Ynalvez
Dr. Marcus Antonius Ynalvez
Director of Sociology
Associate Professor
CH 302D
(956) 326-2621
mynalvez@tamiu.edu

Dr. Judith Warner
Dr. Judith A. Warner
Professor
CH 302E
(956) 326-2623
jwarner@tamiu.edu

US News and World Report logo

Dr. John C. Kilburn Jr
Professor of Sociology
KLM 326C
(956) 326-3221 
jckilburn@tamiu.edu


Geography

Dr. Andrew Hilburn

Dr. Andrew M. Hilburn

Assistant Professor
CH 302J
(956) 326-2662
ahilburn@tamiu.edu

Anthropology

Dr. Alison Hadley Hilburn

Dr. Alison Hadley Hilburn

Visiting Assistant Professor
CNS 302J
(956) 326-2662
alison.hadley@tamiu.edu

Staff

Ana Chapa
Ms. Ana M. Chapa

Student Employee
CH 304A
ana.chapa@tamiu.edu

Mrs. Laura H. Guerrero
Mrs. Laura H. Guerrero

Staff Assistant
CH 304A 
(956) 326-2475
laura.guerrero@tamiu.edu

Claritza Vasquez
Ms. Claritza A. Vasquez

Graduate Teaching Assistant
CH 302
claritza.vasquez@tamiu.edu

DSS ADJUNCT FACULTY

Spring 2016 - (956) 326-2475

Angco, Jonevic 
Almaraz, Vanessa L.
Benavides, Maria Del Rosario
Blackmon, Kimberley 
Diaz, Stephanie 
Garza, Maria Guadalupe 
Garza, Rolando
Guerra, Juan P.  
Latsky-Campbell, Belinda
Laurel-Wilson, Marissa A. 
Lugo, Selina 
Makin, David  A.
McQuagge, Steve 
Mojica, Melissa
Nieto-Salinas, Erin 
Palomo, Richard
Rodas, Sharon 
Rodriguez, Joaquin 
Rodriguez, Rodney 
Rodriguez, Roger 
Schaffler, Wolfram
Valle, Maria Leticia 

Contact

Department of Social Sciences
5201 University Boulevard, 304-A Canseco Hall, Laredo, TX 78041-1900
Phone: 956-326-2475 E-mail: laura.guerrero@tamiu.edu