Skip to content
x
  
  

English Studies at TAMIU

Killam Library

"Today a reader, tomorrow a leader." --Margaret Fuller, American author

The English program at TAMIU provides students with a solid foundation in literary history and analysis, while cultivating important career skills, such as strong writing skills, argumentation skills, time management skills, and critical thinking skills. Students in our major and minor programs study a wide variety of topics and time periods in courses that reflect the depth and breadth of literary knowledge of our faculty.


Follow the links in the menu to find information about our BA, BA with Grades 7-12 certification, the English minor, and the English MA program, as well as our course offerings, course descriptions, and research links.


Faculty Spotlight

Click here to learn more about our faculty!

We will be featuring a different faculty member each week during the spring 2017 semester.


English Faculty



Dr. Manuel Broncano
DR. MANUEL BRONCANO

Regents Professor
PH 314G
(956) 326-2471
manuel.broncano@tamiu.edu

Areas of Interest: American literature, American film

Dr. John Dean
DR. JOHN E. DEAN

Associate Professor
PH 312C
(956) 326-2473
john.dean@tamiu.edu

Areas of Interest: American literature, literature of the borderlands

Dr. Robert Haynes
DR. ROBERT HAYNES

Professor
PH 215B
(956) 326-2603
rhaynes@tamiu.edu

Areas of Interest: Medieval and Renaissance British literature, Shakespeare


Dr. Kathryn Klein
DR. KATHRYN KLEIN

Visiting Assistant Professor
PLG 215C
(956) 326-2642
kathryn.klein@tamiu.edu

Areas of Interest: Transatlantic Modernism, Gay & Lesbian Literature, Fiction Writing

Dr. Ursula Klein
DR. URSULA KLEIN

Assistant Professor
PH 215C
(956) 326-2642
ursula.klein@tamiu.edu

Areas of Interest: Eighteenth-Century British Literature, Women's and Gender Studies

Dr. Kevin Lindbergh
DR. KEVIN LINDBERG

Associate Professor
KL 333
(956) 326-2601
klindberg@tamiu.edu

Areas of Interest: 16th & 17th-Century British Literature, Bible as Literature


Dr. Thomas Mitchell
DR. THOMAS R. MITCHELL

Professor
KL 329A
(956) 326-2633
tmitchell@tamiu.edu 

Areas of Interest: American Literary Renaissance

Dr. Jonathan Murphy
DR. JONATHAN W. MURPHY

Assistant Professor
PH 216C
(956) 326-2602
jonathan.murphy@tamiu.edu

Areas of Interest: American Renaissance and Critical Theory


Dr. Paul Niemeyer
Areas of Interest: Thomas Hardy, British Literature 1800-1930
Dr. Frances Rhodes
DR. FRANCES G. RHODES

Associate Professor
PH 312A
(956) 326-2608
frhodes@tamiu.edu

Areas of Interest: Linguistics, Children's and Young Adult Literature


Dr. Deborah Scaggs
DR. DEBORAH M. SCAGGS

Associate Professional Track
PH 314E
(956) 326-3033
dscaggs@tamiu.edu

Areas of Interest: History of Rhetoric, Early Modern British Literature, Shakespeare

Dr. Charlene Summers
DR. CHARLENE SUMMERS
Assistant Professional
PLG 203E
(956) 326-2470 
charlene.summers@tamiu.edu
Areas of Interest: Composition and Rhetoric Studies