Humanities Banner


Phi Kappa Phi


Texas A&M International University
Chapter 296
The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi

Photo of PKP Charter Group

TAMIU Charter Members at Chapter Installation on November 6, 2005 



Officers (2013 - 2015)

  • Dr. James A. Norris, President
  • Dr. Peter F. Haruna, President-Elect
  • Dr. Lola Orellano Norris, Immediate Past President
  • Dr. H. Lisa Gardner Flores, Secretary
  • Ms. Mary T. Treviño, Treasurer
  • Mr. Steve K. Harmon, Public Relations Officer
  • Ms. María Rosario Benavides, Student Vice-President
  • Ms. Olivia Corona, Student Vice-President
  • Ms. Velia Dávila, Student Vice-President
  • Mr. José Jacobo, Student Vice-President
  • Ms. Erika Medina, Student Vice President
  • Mr. Patrick Palacions, Student Vice-President
  • Ms. Dulce Partida, Student Vice-President

By-Laws of Chapter 296


Past Presidents of Chapter 296

  • Dr. Thomas Mitchell (2005 - 2007)
  • Dr. Kathleen Pletsch de García (2007)
  • Dr. Deborah Blackwell (2007 - 2009)
  • Dr. John C. Kilburn (2009 - 2011)
  • Dr. Lola Orellano Norris (2011 - 2013)


Charter Members

  • Dr. Deborah Blackwell, First Chapter Secretary and Associate Professor of History
  • Mr. Clayton Baum, Laredo Businessman
  • Dr. Barbara Greybeck, Associate Professor of Education
  • Mr. Steve Harmon, First Chapter Public Relations Officer and Director of Public Relations and Marketing
  • Dr. Juan Homero Hinojosa, Professor of Physics
  • Dr. J. Charles Jennett, President Emeritus
  • Dr. Dan Jones, First Chapter Treasurer and Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs
  • Mrs. Patricia Keck, Coordinator of Health Services for Laredo I.S.D.
  • Dr. Ray Keck III, Professor of Spanish and President
  • Dr. Archibald Laud-Hammond, Assistant Professor of Philosophy
  • Mr. John Maxstadt, Associate Librarian and Head of Public Services at Killam Library
  • Dr. Thomas R. Mitchell, First Chapter President and Professor of English
  • Dr. James Norris, Assistant Professor of Political Science
  • Dr. Kathleen Pletsch de García, First Chapter President-Elect and Associate Professor of English & Spanish
  • Dr. Doris Rosenow, Associate Professor of Nursing
  • Dr. Judith Warner, Professor of Sociology
  • Dr. Judith Zaffirini, Texas State Senator




Department of Humanities, TAMIU, 5201 University Blvd., Laredo, TX 78041-1900
Office:  Pellegrino Hall (PH) 314 | Phone: 956-326-2470 | Fax: 956-326-2469 | email: Erika Medrano

Summer Camps Banner
Register with DustyALRT
The TAMIU Trailblazers program
Visit the watson gallery
Powered By TAMIU
Generation Texas
Reading the Globe
Visit the LBV Planetarium
2012 military frendly schools
faculty and course info
online programs
Veteran's Page
download our app

Picture of Globe Translate this site

Click here for more information on Google Translate

5201 University Boulevard, Laredo, TX 78041-1900 Work956.326.2100