Graduate Council

Meeting Minutes

February 3, 2006

Call to order

Dr. Jeff Brown called to order the meeting of the **Graduate Council** at **9:05** on **February 3, 2005** in **KL 330**.

Roll call

Dr. Jeff Brown conducted a roll call. The following persons were present: Doris Rosenow, Tagi Sagafi-nejad, Sean Chadwell, Louise Autio, Laura Hovel, Peter Haruna, John Maxstadt, Martha Fraire (representing Oscar Reyna), Roberto Heredia, Willie Cargill and Terry Shepherd.

In absentia were Jerry Thompson, Trace Pirtle, Juan Lira.

Approval of minutes from last meeting

Graduate Council members read the minutes from the last meeting. **MOTION:** Dr. Haruna moved to accept the December minutes & the motion was seconded by Dr. Autio & passed unanimously.

Old Business

Graduate Academic Affairs Faculty Senate Committee Report

• Dr. Shepherd had nothing to report.

New business

a) Request for Course Extension-Alma Dalrymple-Ramon

MOTION: Dr. Cargill moved to table the issue until further documentation is available & the motion was seconded by Dr. Shepherd, then it was passed unanimously.

- Dr. Cargill discussed COBA's 5 year admission standard for graduate students. He mentioned that once the COBA students reached their 5 year limit, they either left or re-applied. He enforced that COBA follows the same 5 year rule listed in the university catalog. He couldn't recall any cases similar to this.
- b) Graduate Faculty criteria
 - ➤ Baseline Criteria

- There was a lengthy discussion on the issue during which Dr. Haruna suggested that the academic affairs committee should have the responsibility of designating the baseline criteria.
 - ➤ New Ph.D.'s without extensive publication records
- c) Graduate Faculty Applications for Review

MOTION: It was moved and seconded to that all members in group C are accepted at the associate level and that Ellen Barker is moved to group D. It was passed unanimously.

 Faculty members approved were Jeff Brown, Jose Cardona Lopez, Jeff Cass, Sean Chadwell, Dean Champion, Christopher Ferguson, Mario Garcia-Rios, Cecilia Garza, Peter Haruna, Robert Haynes, Roberto Heredia, Thomas Mitchell, Qingwen Ni, Bonnie Rudolph, and Carol Waters.

MOTION: It was moved and seconded to approve all graduate faculty applications in this category for Associate membership and return the applications to their respective departments for further review & recommendation for full doctoral (Ph.D.) membership. The motion was passed unanimously.

 Amendment: There was a friendly amendment made that all graduate faculty files for Associate membership in question be granted associate membership until they are re-nominated or re-apply for full doctoral (Ph.D.) membership. All members present except for one voted in favor of the amendment.

*(Editorial note: Ellen Barker was typographically inserted in category C by error for review.)

- d) Graduate Faculty Applications for Discussion & Review
 - There was a discussion by Dr. Cargill about new Ph.D. faculty members & the requirements by the COBA accrediting body. Due to AASCB standards, COBA allots their new doctoral faculty members a 5 year period to become state qualified. This is referred to as a 5 year pass.

MOTION: It was moved and seconded to approve the following faculty members applying for Associate membership and return the applications to their respective departments for further review & recommendation for full Ph.D. membership. It was passed unanimously.

• Faculty members approved were Eric Albrecht, David Beck, Debbie Blackwell, Lynda Brown, Nathan Gonyea, Kevin Lindbergh, Neal McReynolds, Kathleen Pletsch de Garcia, William Riggs and Gilberto Salinas.

MOTION: It was moved and seconded to approve Ezra Engling for Associate membership. The motion was passed unanimously.

MOTION: It was moved and seconded to approve Annette Olsen-Fazi for Associate membership. The motion was passed unanimously.

MOTION: It was moved and seconded to approve Fernando Quintana for Associate membership. The motion was denied by majority rule. (There was one Graduate Council member who left early & at time of voting was in absentia)

• Faculty whose membership was denied included Ellen Barker, Fernando Quintana, and Frances Rhodes.

Adjournment

Dr. Jeff Brown motioned to adjourn the meeting at 11:00 because he had class.

Minutes submitted by: Dr. Jeff Brown & Suzanne Alford

Minutes are pending approval by Graduate Council.