Nathaniel Hawthorne Society


  • The Concord River behind The Old Manse
  • The Old Manse
  • The Wayside
  • Walden Pond in October
  • Hawthorne's Grave, Sleepy Hollow Cemetery, Concord


Hawthorne Society Officers

President: Jason Courtmanche (2014-2016), University of Connecticut
President-Elect: Sandra Hughes (2014-2016), Western Kentucky University
Secretary:  David Greven (2014-2016), University of South Carolina
Treasurer:  Leland S. Person (2014-2016), University of Cincinnati

Past President:  Rosemary Fisk, Samford University
Archivist: Lea Bertani Newman
Editor, Nathaniel Hawthorne Review: Julie Hall, Sam Houston State University

Executive Council

(Last year of 4-year term in parentheses)

Richard Kopley (2018), Pennsylvania State University, Dubois
Megan Marshall (2018), Emerson College
Ivonne Garcia (2016), Kenyon College
Samuel Chase Coale (2016), Wheaton College, Massacusetts
Patricia Dunlavy Valenti (2016), University of North Carolina-Pembroke
James Hewitson (2018), University of Tennessee-Knoxville
John Idol (ex-officio, Life), Clemson University (emeritus)
David B. Kesterson (ex-officio, Life), University of North Texas
Frederick Newberry and Monika Elbert (ex-officio), past editors of the Nathaniel Hawthorne Review.

Advisory Council

The Advisory Council  consists of all former NHS Presidents, the Archivist, and Trustees of the Endowment Fund and are invited to attend Executive Council meetings as non-voting members.

NHS Archives

All minutes and archives of the society go to Caroline Moseley, Archivist, Bowdoin College Library, 300 College Station, Brunswick, Maine 04011-8421 (


The Nathaniel Hawthorne Society is dedicated to the study and appreciation of the life and works of the author. A nonprofit educational organization, the Society--through its annual meetings, conferences, and review-- provides a medium of communication among scholars and expands the possibilities for shared responses to Hawthorne's achievement.


Co-founders David B. Kesterson and C.E. Frazer Clark, Jr., proposed a meeting of interested Hawthorne scholars for New York City on December 27, 1974, at the Modern Language Association Annual Convention. Some seventy persons gathered for the founding meeting, where planning began for the Society's first symposium at Bowdoin College in the fall of 1976.

Past Presidents

David B. Kesterson, 1975-76
C.E. Frazer Clark, Jr, 1977-78
Arlin Turner, 1979-80
Rita K. Gollin, 1981-82
Joseph Flibbert, 1983-84
John L. Idol, Jr., 1985-86
Thomas Woodson, 1987-88
Lea V.Bertani Newman, 1989-90
Gloria C. Erlich, 1991-92
Leland S. Person, 1993-94
T. Walter Herbert, 1995-96
Larry J. Reynolds, 1997-98
Robert K. Martin, 1999-2000
Millicent Bell, 2001-02
Richard Millington, 2003-04
Samuel Chase Coale, 2005-06
Brenda Wineapple, 2007-08
Richard Kopley, 2009-10
Thomas R. Mitchell, 2011-12
Rosemary Fisk, 2012-14


Chronology of Past Meeting Dates and Places

The Society meets annually at the MLA convention and again in late May with the American Literature Association. At both meetings, veteran and fresh voices share their findings, views, and insights about Hawthorne and his writing. Inquiries about presenting papers should be addressed to President Jason Courtmanche.

Praxiteles' FlorenceThe Society's biennial summer meetings have been held in places important in Hawthorne's life and works: in Salem, Boston, Cambridge, Concord, Pittsfield-Lenox, and North Adams, Massachusetts; in Brunswick and Raymond, Maine; in Rome and Florence, Italy, and at Oxford (UK). These meetings offer tours, special productions and exhibits, invited lectures, and keynote speakers. The Society has also held joint meetings with such groups as the Melville Society, the Henry James Society, the Ralph Waldo Emerson Society, the Margaret Fuller Society, and the Edgar Allan Poe Studies Association

Praxiteles' "Marble" Faun, Rome                                                                                                                                                           Ponte Vecchio, Florence