A&M International Alumni Association Awards Scholarships

The Texas A&M International University Alumni Association has awarded six scholarships for the 1999-2000 academic year.

Scholarship recipients are undergraduate students Cynthia Garza, a criminal justice major; Claudia Garcia, fitness and sports/Spanish major; Elena Lerma, biology major, and Rachel Pottin, psychology/early childhood major; and graduate students Edward Maya, international trade major; and Samuel Asare, business administration major.

Each recipient will receive $500 per semester for a maximum award of $1,000.

Recipients were selected by a committee comprised of Alumni Association members Mario A. Peña, Veronica Martinez, and Elizabeth N. Martinez.

The Texas A&M International University Alumni Association, serving graduates since 1972, annually awards scholarships to undergraduate and graduate students. The Alumni Association has increased the number of scholarships in recent years as a result of vigorous fundraising efforts. The Alumni Association is committed to increasing the number of scholarships awarded each year through hard work and dedicated fundraising efforts.

For additional information, contact Alumni Association president Robert Balli at 721-2445 or Jay Zambrano, Associate Director of the University's Office for Institutional Advancement, at 326-2168.

Journalists who need additional information or help with media requests and interviews should contact the Office of Public Affairs and Information Services at pais@tamiu.edu