Advisory Board for College of Business Meets to Discuss Future Plans

A group of Laredo business leaders are scheduled to meet at Texas A&M International University Nov. 20 to discuss future plans for the College of Business Administration and its students.

The College of Business Administration Advisory Board, a group that advises the College of Business Administration on issues such as curriculum development, student scholarships and faculty development, will gather for the second time this fall semester at 9 a.m. at Pellegrino Hall 205.

The advisory board has been meeting at least once a semester for the past three years to provide suggestions on how the College of Business Administration should structure its academic blueprint while considering shifts in business practices and the globalization of markets, said Dr. Kamal Fatehi, interim dean of the College of Business Administration.

"Because the board members are business leaders, they are also future employers, and therefore, they are helpful in making sure that our curriculum is relevant and meets the needs of business organizations," said Fatehi, as he explained the importance of the advisory board.

Some of the topics that an advisory board may address when discussing curriculum include the need for language skills, computer literacy, and communication, and special needs of businesses when hiring employees, said Fatehi.

Members of the College of Business Administration Advisory Board include Antonio Alvarado; E.H. Corrigan (Corrigan Dispatch Company); Ben Everett (Columbia Doctors Hospital); Javier Garza (Laredo National Bank); Dr. Jaime Alonso Gomez (Graduate School of Business Administration and Leadership ITESM Campus Monterrey); Daniel B. Hastings (Daniel B. Hastings, Inc.); David Killam (Killam Company); Miguel Conchas (Laredo Chamber of Commerce); Alfonso Cuellar Jr., CPA (Cuellar, Martinez Saldaña and Company); Larry Fields (Texas Mexican Railway Company); Gerald Glenn (Chicago Bridge & Iron); Mario Gonzalez Jr., CPA (Gonzalez, Farias, Guerra, PC); Gary Jacobs (Laredo National Bank); Frank Leach (Laredo Development Foundation); Luis Lidsky (International Stores); Max Mandel (Laredo National Bank); Marvin Melson (NBC Bank-Laredo); Jim Moore (Laredo National Bank); George Person (Person, Whitworth, Ramos, Borchers & Morales); Mark Stauder (Mercy Health System of Texas); Patrick Wong (Dinastia Computer Superstore); Jaime Loera (Rheem Manufacturing); Gen. Robert McDermott; Rudy Miles (Rudolph Miles & Sons, Inc.); Mark Pease; Henry Rose Jr., CPA (Kowalsky, Rose & Company); Arturo Volpe (TSI) and Fernando Zuñiga Jr. (F. Zuñiga, Inc.)

For further information, please contact the College of Business Administration at 326-2480. University office hours are 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Journalists who need additional information or help with media requests and interviews should contact the Office of Public Affairs and Information Services at