A&M International Students Receive AMP Scholarships

Fifty-two Texas A&M International University students were recently awarded $26,000 in scholarship monies from the Texas Alliance for Minority Participation Scholarship (Texas AMP), a scholarship for undergraduate students majoring in science, engineering, mathematics, or technology.

The A&M International students each received $500. Scholarships were awarded in three categories, "New Scholars," for recipients who had never before received a Texas AMP Scholarship, "Transfer," for students who had been awarded a Texas AMP Scholarship at another institution during the previous semester, and "Continuation," for students who had received the scholarship at A&M International during the previous semester.

A&M International students who were awarded the Texas AMP Scholarship in the "New Scholars" category were Alice A. Benavides, Elaine M. Botello, Michael Thomas Chandarlis, Janene E. Dunn, Alfredo Gonzalez III, Maria A. Gonzalez, Cynthia Guerra, Susana Hinojosa, Selina Liendo, Gregorio B. Madrigal, Graciela M. Martinez, Nancy Martinez, Maribel J. Mitsui, Peter A. Palizo, Jose A. Peña, Abril A. Piñeda, Paula Karina Reyes, Rodney Saenz, Maxsimo Salazar, Jessica Sanchez, and Juan Carlos Zambrano.

Manuel G. Escalante and Michelle Fernandez were scholarship recipients in the "Transfer" category.

Scholarship recipients in the "Continuing" category were Cordelia Bernal, Esmeralda M. Cardenas, Aida Chavez, Gabriel Cisneros, Ami De La Fuente, Patricia De La Garza, Frederick Estopier, Manuel Gamboa Jr., Ricardo Garza-Gongora, Rocio Gonzalez, Rajeswari Guntnur, Olga Guzman, Adriana Hernandez, Edward Hernandez, Angelica Hinojosa, Laura N. Mante, Mario I. Mendoza, Jules Minne, Devon M. Ramirez, Cynthia Reyes, Sylvia Araceli Rodriguez, Lisa Ruiz, Irema Saenz, Julissa Anne Salinas, Darlene Sanchez, Patricia D. Valdez, Nicole Duncan Vallone, Adriana Lisa Vela, and Juan Luis Villarreal Jr.

Funding for AMP is provided through a grant from the National Science Foundation. Through a collaborative venture between Texas A&M International University and the Texas Engineering Experiment Station at Texas A&M University-College Station, A&M International has received AMP funding for five years and will continue to receive funding for an additional five years.

To qualify for an AMP Scholarship, applicants must maintain at least a 2.5 grade point average, be enrolled in a science, engineering, mathematics, or technology program; and be full-time students at A&M International or be concurrently enrolled at A&M International and Laredo Community College for an equivalence of full-time status. Applicants who will attend A&M International for two years and then transfer to another university must transfer to another university in The Texas A&M University System.

Students who wish to apply for the scholarship should contact Texas AMP Scholarship Coordinator Dr. Julio F. Madrigal, Chair of the University's Department of Psychology, at 326-2475 or via email at jfmadrigal@tamiu.edu.

University office hours are from 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday - Friday.

Journalists who need additional information or help with media requests and interviews should contact the Office of Public Affairs and Information Services at pais@tamiu.edu