A&M International Students Receive AMP Scholarships

Over $25,000 in scholarship monies was awarded to 34 Texas A&M International University students this semester through the Texas Alliance for Minority Participation Scholarship (Texas AMP), a scholarship for undergraduate students majoring in mathematics, science, or computer information systems.

The A&M International students each received $750. Scholarships were awarded in three categories, "New Scholars," for recipients who had never before received a Texas AMP Scholarship, "Transfer," for students who had been awarded a Texas AMP Scholarship at another institution during the previous semester, and "Continuation," for students who had received the scholarship at A&M International during the previous semester.

A&M International students who were awarded the Texas AMP Scholarship in the "New Scholars" category were Cordelia Bernal, Jimmy Cantu, Gabriel Cisneros, Patricia De La Garza, Rajeswari Guntnur, Adriana Hernandez, Jules Minne, Devon M. Ramirez, Adriana Rodriguez, Lisa Ruiz, Melissa A. Talamantes, Jesus D. Sandoval, and Juan Luis Villarreal Jr.

Scholarship recipients in the Continuation category were Monica Arriaga, Monica R. Barrientos, Esmeralda M. Cardenas, Aida Chavez, Angelica De Los Santos, Frederick Estopier, Manuel Gamboa Jr., Ezequiel Gonzalez, Rocio Gonzalez, Olga Guzman, Laura Mante, Mario I. Mendoza, Celina Niave, Lizeth Pena, Sylvia Araceli Rodriguez, Darlene Sanchez, Patricia D. Valdez, Nicole Duncan Vallone, and Adriana Lisa Vela.

Scholarship recipients in the Transfer category were Angelica Hinojosa and Cynthia Reyes.

The Texas AMP Scholarship offers $750 per long semester for full-time undergraduates majoring in math, science with the exception of health science, or Computer Information Systems (BAAS).

Applicants must be US citizens or permanent residents with an overall GPA of at least 2.5. This scholarship is awarded in the Fall and Spring semesters.

A&M International students who wish to apply for the scholarship should contact Texas AMP Scholarship Coordinator Dr. Julio F. Madrigal, Chair of the Department of Psychology and Sociology, at 326-2475.

University office hours are 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Monday - Friday.

Journalists who need additional information or help with media requests and interviews should contact the Office of Public Affairs and Information Services at pais@tamiu.edu