A&M International Honors Outstanding Student Clubs

Outstanding Texas A&M International University student organizations were recently recognized during a University Life Awards ceremony and reception held recently in the University's Great Room. The awards ceremony and reception were sponsored by A&M International's Office of Student Development and the Student Government Association.

University Life Awards were presented in six categories: Outstanding Community Service, Most Outstanding Sponsor, Leader of the Year, Freshman Excellence, Most Active Student Organization, and Coolest Shirt.

Recipient of the Outstanding Community Service Award was the A&M International Dance Club, which has performed over 200 hours of community service since the start of the academic year. Other nominees in this category included the Political Science Association, Ballet Folklorico, and International Business Association.

Recipient of the Outstanding Sponsor Award was Dr. Sushma Krishnamurthy, sponsor of the Biology Club. Other nominees included Bede Leyendecker, Dance Club; Dr. Jana Pisani, History Club; Dr. Thomas Vaughan, Health and Fitness Club.

Gina De La Miyar, president of the Student Ambassadors, was named recipient of the Leader of the Year Award. Other nominees included Nadia Plascencia, Electronic Commerce Association; Jessica Ramon, Dance Club; Halia M. Valladares, International Business Association; and Jessica Zamora, Ballet Folklorico.

Recipient of the Freshman Excellence Award was Jaime Ayala, member of the A&M International Ballet Folklorico. Other nominees included Alejandra Robaina, Health and Fitness Club; Jose Romero, Student Ambassadors; and Pedro Saenz, Electronic Commerce Association.

The A&M International Ballet Folklorico was named Most Active Student Organization of the Year. Other nominees included the Dance Club, Electronic Commerce Association, International Business Association, Political Science Association, and the Student Ambassadors.

The Coolest Shirt Award, for the official club shirt which best promoted the organization, was awarded to the Political Science Association. Other nominations in this category were the Dance Club, Health and Fitness Club, History Club, International Business Association, and Student Ambassadors

Award recipients were selected by a committee comprised of one University administrator, one faculty member, and one student representative . Selection committee members were Mika Akikuni, Communications Specialist, Office of Public Affairs; Frances McKinnon, adjunct faculty, Department of Language, Literature and Arts; and Alejandra Diaz, vice president of the Student Government Association.

Dr. Stephen Brown, Dean of Student Affairs at A&M International, provided welcoming remarks for the award ceremony. Emcees for the event were David VerMilyea, Director of Student Development, and Gabriela Mendoza, Associate Director of Student Development.

For more information on the University Life Awards, call the Office of Student Development, 326-2280, or visit offices in the Kinesiology/Convocation Building room 107. University office hours are from 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday -Friday.

Journalists who need additional information or help with media requests and interviews should contact the Office of Public Affairs and Information Services at pais@tamiu.edu