A&M International Honors Outstanding Student Clubs

Outstanding Texas A&M International University student clubs were recently recognized during a Student Organization Awards Reception held at the University's Great Room. The reception was sponsored by A&M International's Office of Student Development.

Dr. Stephen Brown, Dean of Student Affairs at A&M International, provided welcoming remarks for the award ceremony. Emcees for the event were David VerMilyea, Director of Student Development, and Gabriela Mendoza, Associate Director of Student Development.

A&M International administrators who attended the reception included University president Dr. J. Charles Jennett, and Dr. Janet K. Black, Vice President for Advancement and External Affairs.

Awards were presented in six categories: Outstanding Community Service, Most Outstanding Sponsor, Leader of the Year, Freshman Excellence, Most Active Student Organization, and Coolest Shirt Design.

Recipient of the Outstanding Community Service Award was the International Business Association. Other nominees in this category included the Association of International Students, Progressive Alliance, Student Accounting Society, Student Government Association, and Rainbow Education Association of Laredo.

Recipient of the Outstanding Sponsor Award was David VerMilyea, sponsor of the Association of International Students and Student Government Association. Other nominees included Dr. Jeffrey Brown, Sociology/Psychology Club sponsor; Ricardo Ortegon, Student Ambassadors; Dr. Idalia Rodriguez, Student Reading Council; and Dr. Michael Yoder, Progressive Alliance.

Student Accounting Society member Rosa Escobedo was named recipient of the Leader of the Year Award. Other nominees include Margie Colon, Student Government Association; Robert Fields, Progressive Alliance; Elda Gongora, Student Ambassadors; Lynette Jass, Amnesty International; Ries Landrum, Rainbow Education Association of Laredo; and Yu Lee Wu, Association of International Students.

Recipient of the Freshman Excellence Award was Victor Villarreal, Student Government Association. Other nominees include Laura Gonzalez, Student Ambassadors; and Jarin Pathan, Rainbow Education Association of Laredo.

The International Business Association was named Most Active Student Organization of the Year. Other nominees included the Rainbow Education Association of Laredo and the Student Government Association.

The Coolest Shirt Award, for the official club shirt which best promoted the organization, was awarded to the International Business Association. The recipient was chosen by members of the student body who voted for the best design of five nominated entries.

Recipients in the other categories were selected by a committee comprised of one University administrator and two faculty members. Selection committee members were Margarita Chavez, Assistant Director of Admissions; Dr. Carlos Cuellar, Assistant Professor of History; and Dr. David Herrington, Assistant Professor of Educational Administration.

For more information on A&M International's Student Organization Awards, call the Office of Student Development, 326-2280, or visit offices in the Kinesiology and Convocation Center room 107.

University office hours are 8 am - 5 pm Monday - Friday.

Journalists who need additional information or help with media requests and interviews should contact the Office of Public Affairs and Information Services at pais@tamiu.edu