Laredo Distinguished Concert Series Tonight at UISD Activities Complex

Roel Flores, trumpet soloist and band director at Salvador Garcia Middle School, will be the featured artist in the second installment of the Laredo Distinguished Concert Series Thursday, May 29 at 7 p.m. at the United Independent School District Activities Complex, 5208 Santa Claudia Lane.

The event is free of charge and the public is invited to attend. Accompanying Flores is Dr. Desmond Kincaid. Dr. Kincaid is a retired professor of Piano from the University of Mississippi.

Drawn from classical to pop, the program will feature numerous songs including " Kennan Sonata for Trumpet and Piano," and "Trumpeter's Lullaby."

Flores holds a bachelor of arts in music from the University of Texas at Pan-American in Edinburg.

From 1988 to 1992, he attended the University of Mississippi in Oxford, Mississippi. At Ole Miss, he was a member of the Ole Miss Rebel Marching Band, the Wind Ensemble, and The Collegiates (jazz band). As a member of the Ole Miss Wind Ensemble, he traveled abroad and performed in England and Ireland.

Upon receiving his bachelor's degree he taught in the Rio Grande Valley.

Flores, who was influenced by trumpet players such as Chuck Mangione, Maynard Ferguson, Arturo Sandoval and Allen Vizutti, is an alumni member of the Concord Blue Devils Drum and Bugle Corps.

He is an avid arranger and composer and has written music for jazz bands, mariachi bands, and brass quintets.

He is a member of several professional musical groups including Ennergy Live Band, Mariachi America and Orchestra Universal of McAllen. Besides his teaching career, he is also a studio musician in Laredo.

The Laredo Distinguished Concert Series is the result of a partnership between Texas A&M International University, Laredo Community College, United Independent School District, Laredo Independent School District and various community organizations.

Its purpose is to promote the presentation of music solo performances to students and the public at no cost. The Series will consist of a total of five concerts per year, including some performances featuring soloists chosen from the faculty of each educational institution.

Members of the artists selection committee include Javier Vera (UISD), Ernesto Guajardo (LISD), Dr. Joseph Crabtree (LCC), and Dr. Gilberto Soto (TAMIU).

For further information, please contact Dr. Gilberto Soto, chair of the TAMIU Department of Fine and Performing Arts, at 326-2649, e-mail or visit offices located in the Center for Fine and Performing Arts, 217C.

University summer office hours are 7:30 a.m. - 6 p.m. Monday through Thursday. Offices are closed on Fridays.

Journalists who need additional information or help with media requests and interviews should contact the Office of Public Affairs and Information Services at