A&M International Faculty Named to System Academy For Educator Development

Fourteen members of the Texas A&M International University faculty have been appointed members of the Academy for Educator Development, a major component of The Texas A&M University System's Regents' Initiative for Excellence in Education.

The Academy provides a forum for university professors from all nine of the A&M System's universities to learn more about K-12 issues in order to better prepare future Texas teachers. Faculty are chosen from across university departments.

The effort is seen as doing much to advance teacher preparation statewide and is indicative of the A&M System's position at the forefront of higher education institutions creating a dynamic infrastructure with which to prepare new teachers.

Dr. Charles Jennett, A&M International president, said the University's faculty are to be commended for their commitment.

"These faculty leaders are to be commended for their commitment to the preparation of future teachers as well as their personal commitment to continued professional development in this field," he said.

A professional development sequence, organized through the A&M System's Institute for School-University Partnerships, is offered to Academy members. This sequence further acquaints faculty participants with public education policy and related issues that will support their active participation in field-based preparation programs.

The professional development program includes the following components: core curriculum, such as the Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS), demographic trends in Texas communities and public schools, the accountability system for educator preparation, and the Professional Development and Assessment System (PDAS); content-specific areas, such as the TEKS, State Board for Educator Certification's standards, and curriculum alignment; local input based on regional needs; and research and service.

Academy members who have been appointed and their respective A&M International departments are:

Dr. Lilia Canizales, Dr. Jeff Cass, Dr. Kati Pletsch de Garcia and Dr. Frances Rhodes, language, literature and arts; Omar Gonzalez, Dr. Firooz Khosraviyani and Dr. Julio Valladares, natural sciences; Dr. Barbara Greybeck, special populations; Lilia Patricia Nava, curriculum and instruction; Dr. Kamal Parhizgar, management and marketing; Dr. Michael Patrick, economics and finance; and Dr. Jana Pisani, Dr. Carol Waters and Dr. Michael Yoder, social sciences.

For additional information, please contact the Office of the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs at 326.2241.

University office hours are from 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday-Friday.

Journalists who need additional information or help with media requests and interviews should contact the Office of Public Affairs and Information Services at pais@tamiu.edu