x
  
  

Faculty and Staff

Sean Maddan

Chair

Dr. Sean A. Maddan

Associate Professor of Criminal Justice
Academic Innovation Center 372
956.326.2467
sean.maddan@tamiu.edu


Criminal Justice

Dr. San Miguel

Dr. Claudia E. San Miguel

Dean
Associate Professor
AIC 373A
956.326.2460
csanmiguel@tamiu.edu

Dr. Bernat

Dr. Frances P. Bernat

Regents Professor
AIC 364
956.326.2644
frances.bernat@tamiu.edu

Jared Dmello

Dr. Jared Dmello

Assistant Professor
AIC 347
956.326.2623
jared.dmello@tamiu.edu
www.jareddmello.com

Dr. Brittany HoodDr. Brittany Hood

Assistant Professor
AIC 314
956.326.2687
brittany.hood@tamiu.edu

Flor Hernandez

Ms. Flor Mayela Hernández

Visiting Instructor
AIC 322
956.326.2667
flor.hernandez@tamiu.edu

Dr. Fei Luo

Dr. Fei Luo

Assistant Professor
AIC 371
956.326.2622
fei.luo@tamiu.edu
www.researchgate.net/profile/Fei-Luo-8

Marcus Carey

Dr. Marcus Carey

Assistant Professional  
AIC 357
956.326.2529
marcus.carey@tamiu.edu

Dr. Jascha WagnerDr. Jascha Wagner

Assistant Professor
AIC 379
956.326.2476
jascha.wagner@tamiu.edu

TAMIU International U Logo

Dr. Daniel Scott 

Assistant Professor
AIC 381
956.326.2626
daniel.scott@tamiu.edu

 

TAMIU International U Logo

Dr. Gabriella Sanchez

Assistant Professor
AIC 386
956.326.3365
gabriella.sanchez@tamiu.edu


Political Science

Dr. Jack Byham

Dr. Jack C. Byham

Assistant Professor
AIC 327
956.326.2632
jack.byham@tamiu.edu

Dr. James Norris

Dr. James A. Norris

Associate Professor
AIC 341
956.326.2607
jnorris@tamiu.edu

Nilda Garcia

Dr. Nilda Garcia

Assistant Professor
AIC 355
956.326.2478
Nilda.garcia@tamiu.edu

Dr. Simon Zschirnt

Dr. Simon Zschirnt

Associate Professor
AIC 354
956.326.2619
simon.zschirnt@tamiu.edu

Dr. Alfonso Vergaray

Dr. Alfonso R. Vergaray

Director of International Leadership

Assistant Professor
AIC 323
956.326.2604
alfonso.vergaray@tamiu.edu


Public Administration

Dr. Peter Haruna

Dr. Peter F. Haruna

Professor and Director of Public Administration
AIC 334
956.326.2613
pharuna@tamiu.edu

Dr. Lynne Managanaro

Dr. Lynne L. Manganaro

Associate Dean
Associate Professor
AIC 374
956.326.2617
lynne.manganaro@tamiu.edu

Dr. Mehnaaz Momen

Dr. Mehnaaz Momen

Associate Professor
AIC 358
956.326.2631
mmomen@tamiu.edu

Dr. Wanzhu Shi

Dr. Wanzhu Shi

Assistant Professor
AIC 359
956.326.2528
wanzhu.shi@tamiu.edu

Dr. Varaidzo Zvobgo

Dr. Varaidzo Zvobgo

Assistant Professor
AIC 383
956.326.2652
varaidzo.zvobgo@tamiu.edu

 


Sociology

Dr. Marcus Ynalvez

Dr. Marcus Antonius Ynalvez

Associate Dean
Associate Professor
AIC 376
956.326.2621
mynalvez@tamiu.edu

Pamela Neuman

Dr. Pamela J. Neumann

Assistant Professor
AIC 321
956.326.2686
pamela.neumann@tamiu.edu

US News and World Report logo

Dr. John C. Kilburn Jr

Professor of Sociology
KLM 326C
956.326.3221
jckilburn@tamiu.edu

Dr. Virginia BerndtDr. Virginia Berndt

Assistant Professor
AIC 384
956.326.2474
virginia.berndt@tamiu.edu


Geography

Dr. Andrew Hilburn

Dr. Andrew M. Hilburn

Assistant Professor
AIC 340
956.326.2662
ahilburn@tamiu.edu

Anthropology

Dr. Alison Hadley Hilburn

Dr. Alison Hadley Hilburn

Assistant Professor
AIC 337
956.326.2651
alison.hadley@tamiu.edu


Staff

tamiulogo1

Ruby Villarreal Miranda 
Administrative Associate
AIC 313
956.326.2465 and 956.326.2475
ruby.villarreal@tamiu.edu

 

Contact

Department of Social Sciences
5201 University Boulevard, Academic Innovation Center 313, Laredo, TX 78041-1900
Phone: 956-326-2475