x
  
  

Faculty and Staff

Sean Maddan
 Chair

DR. SEAN A. MADDAN

Associate Professor of Criminal Justice
Academic Innovation Center 372
(956) 326-2467
sean.maddan@tamiu.edu

Criminal Justice

Dr. San Miguel
Dr. Claudia E. San Miguel

Dean
Associate Professor
AIC 373A
(956) 326-2460
csanmiguel@tamiu.edu

Dr. Bernat

Dr. Frances P. Bernat

Professor
AIC 364
(956) 326-2644
frances.bernat@tamiu.edu

 
Alexander Updegrove
Dr. alexander updegrove

Assistant Professor
AIC 335
(956) 326-2687
alexander.updergrove@tamiu.edu

Dr. kate Houston
Dr. Kate A. Houston
Assistant Professor
AIC 338
(956) 326-2630
kate.houston@tamiu.edu
http://www.katehouston.com


Heather Alaniz
Dr. heather alaniz

Assistant Professional
AIC 375
(956) 326-2474

heather.alaniz@tamiu.edu


Flor Hernandez

Ms. Flor Mayela Hernandez

 Visiting Instructor
AIC 322
(956) 326-2667
flor.hernandez@tamiu.edu

Jared Dmello
Dr. JARED DMELLO

Assistant Professor  
AIC 347
(956) 326-2623
jared.dmello@tamiu.edu

Dr. Fei Luo
Dr. Fei Luo

Assistant Professor   
AIC 371
(956) 326-2622
fei.luo@tamiu.edu

Marcus Carey
Dr. marcus carey

Assistant Professional  
AIC 357
(956) 326-2529
marcus.carey@tamiu.edu

Political Science

Dr. Jack Byham
Dr. Jack C. Byham
Assistant Professor
AIC 327
(956) 326-2632
jack.byham@tamiu.edu

Dr. James Norris
Dr. James A. Norris
Associate Professor
AIC 341
(956) 326-2607
jnorris@tamiu.edu

Nilda Garcia

Dr. nilda Garcia
Visiting Assistant Professor
AIC 355
(956) 326-2478
nilda.garcia@tamiu.edu
Dr. Simon Zschirnt
Dr. Simon Zschirnt
Associate Professor
AIC 354
(956) 326-2619
simon.zschirnt@tamiu.edu

Dr. Alfonso Vergaray
Dr. Alfonso R. Vergaray
Director of International Leadership
Assistant Professor    
AIC 323
(956) 326-2604
alfonso.vergaray@tamiu.edu

Public Administration

Dr. Peter Haruna
Dr. Peter F. Haruna

Professor and Director of Public Administration
AIC 334
(956) 326-2613
pharuna@tamiu.edu

Dr. Lynne Managanaro
Dr. Lynne L. Manganaro
Associate Dean
Associate Professor
AIC 374
(956) 326-2617
lynne.manganaro@tamiu.edu

Dr. Mehnaaz Momen
Dr. Mehnaaz Momen

Associate Professor
AIC 358
(956) 326-2631
mmomen@tamiu.edu

 
Dr. Maria Reyes
Dr. Maria A. Reyes

Assistant Professional
AIC 317
(956) 326-2540
maria.reyes@tamiu.edu

Dr. Wanzhu Shi
DR. WANZHU SHI

 Assistant Professor
AIC 359
(956) 326-2528 
wanzhu.shi@tamiu.edu

 

Sociology

Dr. marcus Ynalvez
Dr. Marcus Antonius Ynalvez
Associate Dean
Associate Professor
AIC 376
(956) 326-2621
mynalvez@tamiu.edu

Pamela Neuman
Dr. PAMELA J. NEUMANn
Assistant Professor
AIC 321
(956) 326-2686
pamela.neuman@tamiu.edu

US News and World Report logo

Dr. John C. Kilburn Jr
Professor of Sociology
KLM 326C
(956) 326-3221 
jckilburn@tamiu.edu


Joseph Garcia


Dr. joseph garcia
Visiting Assistant Professor
AIC 314
(956) 326-2476
joseph.garcia@tamiu.edu

Geography

Dr. Andrew Hilburn

Dr. Andrew M. Hilburn

Assistant Professor
AIC 340
(956) 326-2662
ahilburn@tamiu.edu

Anthropology

Dr. Alison Hadley Hilburn

Dr. Alison Hadley Hilburn

Assistant Professor
AIC 337
(956) 326-2651
alison.hadley@tamiu.edu

Staff

Mrs. Laura H. Guerrero
Mrs. Norma arenal

Administrative Associate
AIC 313
(956) 326-2475
norma.arenal@tamiu.edu

Contact

Department of Social Sciences
5201 University Boulevard, Academic Innovation Center 313, Laredo, TX 78041-1900
Phone: 956-326-2475 E-mail: norma.arenal@tamiu.edu