TAMIU Students Earn Awards at Academic Conference
Posted: 04/22/2010

TAMIU Students Earn Awards at

Academic Conference

Nearly 200 Texas A&M International University undergraduate and graduate students presented their research, scholarly and creative activity at the Second Annual Lamar Bruni Vergara and Guillermo Benavides Z. Academic Conference Awards this month. 

The Conference is graciously supported by the Lamar Bruni Vergara Trust and Guillermo
Benavides Z. 

The Conference Grand Prize for Graduate Students was awarded to John Praska for his presentation on mathematics and information systems, “A Plan to Keep Our City Clean & Rich.”

The Undergraduate Grand Prize was shared by Christine Rojas, Kimberly Hill and Diana L. Carreon for their presentation, “The Role of Proxemics and Hispanic Women.”

Cash prizes were awarded for best presentations in various disciplines.

Other Awards to Graduate and Undergraduate students are as follows:

First Prize, Graduate

Education: Keri L. Shannon; Health and Life Sciences: Erik S. Perez; Humanties: Deena L. Garza and Joe E. Molina; Mathematics and Information Systems: John Praska and Social and Behavioral Sciences: Esther F. Garza.

First Prize, Undergraduate

Business and Management: Jesus E. Cuevas; Education: Laura N. Olivas; Health and Life Sciences: Paul E. Miranda and Sheereen Shhabadin; Humanities: Christina Rojas; Mathematics, Computers and Engineering: Gabino Torres Jr.; Physical Sciences: Jose E. Garza Jr.; Psychology: Arlyn Martinez and Social Sciences: Kimberly Hill and Diana L. Carreon.

Second Prize, Graduate

Education: Tanya K. Torres and Ricardo A. Guardiola; Health and Life Sciences: Amede Rubio; Mathematics and Information Systems: Ravikiran Puchalapalli and Social and Behavioral Sciences: Omar Garcia and Cynthia Martinez.

Second Prize, Undergraduate

Business and Management: Arturo A Montalvo; Education: Leslie Widales; Humanities: Melissa Trevino; Mathematics, Computers, and Engineering: Edwin I. Torres; Physical Sciences: Joseph Garza and Psychology: Michael Bustamante.

Third Prize, Graduate
Health and Life Sciences: Mike Swoboda; Humanities: Jonathan Martinez and Mathematics and Information Systems: Juan J Arellano Jr.

Third Prize, Undergraduate

Business and Management: Izamar Zapata; Education: Erika E Rojas;
Health and Life Sciences: Daniel R. Vera; Humanities: Clarissa Moreno; Mathematics, Computers, and Engineering: Jeffrey A González; Physical Sciences: Tirso Morales; Psychology: Melissa V O'Brien and Social Sciences: Andrea D Beattie.

For additional information on the Conference or participating in next year’s offering, please contact the sponsoring Office of Graduate Studies and Research at 326.3020 or e-mail GraduateSchool@tamiu.edu

Click here for more stories focusing on the service and research accomplishments of the administration, faculty and staff of Texas A&M International University.

Journalists who need additional information or help with media requests and interviews should contact the Office of Public Relations, Marketing and Information Services at prmis@tamiu.edu