Cast Announced for LTGI Production of “The Sound of Music” at TAMIU
Posted: 05/27/2010

Cast Announced for LTGI Summer
Musical “The Sound of Music”

“The Sound of Music,” the Laredo Theater Guild International’s summer musical at Texas A&M International University, has been cast.

More than 125 participated in the casting for the show that will open for previews July 12. Performances are scheduled July 15-17 at 8 p.m., July 18 at 3 p.m., July 23-24 at 8 p.m. and July 25 at 3 p.m. All performances will occur in TAMIU’s Center for the Fine and Performing Arts’ Theatre.

Our summer musical is always a major event in our season and in the entire year. Additionally, ‘The Sound of Music’ itself is a phenomenon that brings out passionate fans of the show and hearing the audience sing along is not unusual. We expect our cast will enjoy a unique and thrilling experience in the theater and we will provide the same to our community,” said Joe Arciniega, producer.

Directing the summer offering will be Vernon Carroll. Brendan Townsend will be musical director and conductor; Bede Leyendecker, choreographer; Adalberto Chavarria, technical director; Dr. Mary Grace Carroll, music coordinator and rehearsal pianist; Verónica Ramirez, vocal coach and Anastasia Pérez, assistant producer.

The cast includes Maria Rainier, a Postulant at Nonnberg Abbey, Sandra Rendon; the Mother Abbess, Verónica Ramírez; Sister Berthe, Mistress of Novices, Karen Mejia; Sister Margaretta, Mistress of the Postulants, Kendra Pérez; Sister Sophia, Briana Morales; Captain Georg von Trapp, Joe Arciniega; Franz, the butler, John Maxstadt and Frau Schmidt, the housekeeper, Margot Paz.

Liesl, Kristelle Martin; Friedrich, Andrés Regalado; Louisa, Allie Howland; Kurt, Noah Alford; Brigitta, Ariadne Diaz; Marta, Jasmine Victoria Hinds; Gretl, Brianna Maldonado; Rolf Gruber, Patrick Carroll; Elsa Schraeder, Melissa Barrera González; Ursula, Mónica Rangel; Max Detweiler, Alex López; Herr Zeller, Jacob Rathmell; Frau Zeller, Kiery Hein; Baron and Baroness Elberfeld, Kenneth Duncan, Sr. and DeeDee Diaz; a new Postulant, Cecilia Martínez; Admiral von Schreiber, Vernon Carroll; Chorus, William Brown, Kathryn Carroll, Óscar Cortez, Roxi Vela-Cuéllar, Kenneth Duncan, Jr., Ryan Duncan, Nicolle Figueroa, Gloria Flores, Norma González, Kevin Jacaman, Cati Kahn, Lisa Martínez, Hector Rios, Cuqui Rosillo, Laura Valenciano and Derek Walker.

Tickets will be available for sale beginning July 1 at the University’s Bookstore and at Foster’s on Del Mar Boulevard. For more information, visit the LTGI website at laredotheaterguild.com or call 319.8610.

Journalists who need additional information or help with media requests and interviews should contact the Office of Public Relations, Marketing and Information Services at prmis@tamiu.edu