Future Leaders Receive Mr. South Texas 2009 Scholarships at TAMIU

Future Leaders Receive Mr. South Texas
2009 Scholarships at TAMIU

A total of 10 students from local high schools, Laredo Community College and Texas A&M International University received Mr. South Texas 2009 Scholarships from State Sen. Judith Zaffirini this week.

Judith Zaffirini and scholarship recipients
State Sen. Judith Zaffirini, seventh from left, presented 10 local students with the Mr. South Texas 2009 Scholarships.

The students were honored at a special reception at TAMIU Tuesday, attended by Sen. Zaffirini, TAMIU President Dr. Keck and other University officials, students’ family members, educators, as well as representatives of the Washington Birthday Celebration Association and BBVA Compass, sponsor of the Mr. South Texas Luncheon.

Sen. Zaffirini created the $1,000 scholarship program and the Mr. South Texas Foundation when she was named Mr. South Texas 1999.

Scholarship recipients were selected by their respective principals or counselors as their institution’s most likely future Mr. South Texas honorees. Selection criteria include not only outstanding leadership and scholarship, but also a commitment to return to South Texas.

“I’m delighted to recognize these young leaders who will return to impact our community,” Zaffirni said, “ I also hope that as they receive these awards that promote excellence in post-secondary education, they recognize the responsibility of returning to strengthen and improve the quality of life in South Texas and for all Texans.”

Dr. Keck said TAMIU students benefit greatly from Zaffirini’s support and the Mr. South Texas Foundation.

“TAMIU is fortunate to have a partner in the Mr. South Texas Foundation,” Dr. Keck said, “Our students have a bright future and it is encouraging for them to know that there is a scholarship that emphasizes the value of leadership and giving back to South Texas.”

The mission of the Mr. South Texas Scholarship Foundation is to support students who are from the Laredo area, plan to return to South Texas after graduation and could be future Mr. South Texas Honorees.

The 10 recipients of the Mr. South Texas 2009 Scholarship are the following:

  • Maria Leslie Ynalvez, Alexander High School
  • Sergio Benitez, Cigarroa High School
  • Erik Villa, LBJ High School
  • Melissa Casarez, Martin High School
  • Lawrence Dang, Nixon High School
  • Guillermo Gonzalez, St. Augustine High School
  • Michael Alexander Mederos, United High School
  • Beatriz Torrez, United South High School
  • Christine Cortez, Texas A&M International University
  • Adriana Araceli Garcia, Laredo Community College

For more information, please contact the Office of Public Relations, Marketing and Information Services at 326.2180, e-mail prmis@tamiu.edu or visit offices located in the Sue and Radcliffe Killam Library, room 268.

University summer hours are 8 a.m. – 6 p.m., Monday-Thursday and 8 a.m.-12 p.m. on Fridays.

Journalists who need additional information or help with media requests and interviews should contact the Office of Public Relations, Marketing and Information Services at prmis@tamiu.edu