Winners in TAMIU Academic Conference Named
Posted: 4/21/11

Winners in TAMIU’s Third Annual L.B. Vergara and
Guillermo Benavides Z. Academic Conference Named

Over 200 Texas A&M International University undergraduate and graduate students presented their research, scholarly and creative activity at the Third Annual Lamar Bruni Vergara and Guillermo Benavides Z. Academic Conference Awards this month.

The Conference is graciously supported by the Lamar Bruni Vergara Trust and Guillermo Benavides Z.

The Conference Grand Prize forGraduate Students was awarded to Susan M. Aguilar for her presentation “Cosmopolitanism in Science.”

Conference Winner Susan M. Aguilar, Dr. Jeff Brown and Dr. Kevin Lindberg
Grand Prize Winner

Susan M. Aguilar, Texas A&M International University graduate student, is congratulated as the winner of the Lamar Bruni Vergara and Guillermo Benavides Z. Academic Conference’s Grand Prize for Graduate Students by left, Dr. Jeffrey M. Brown, TAMIU dean of Graduate Studies and Research and right, Dr. Kevin Lindberg, associate chair, TAMIU department of Language and Literature. Aguilar’s topic presentation explored “Cosmopolitanism in Science.” Over 200 TAMIU students participated in the Conference.

Jennifer Medlin received the Undergraduate Grand Prize for her presentation, “Vector Potential and Natural Life Cycle of Amblyomma Inornatum.” Cash prizes were awarded for best presentations in various disciplines.

Other Awards to Graduate and Undergraduate students are as follows:

First Prize, Graduate - Education: Eliana M. Cox; Humanities: Alejandra C. Marquez; Health and Life Sciences: Selinda Martínez; Mathematics and Information Systems: Agbi O. Olufunlola, and Social and Behavioral Sciences: Susan M. Aguilar.

First Prize, Undergraduate - Business and Management: Diaris M. Hernández; Education: Areli García; Health and Life Sciences: Jennifer Medlin; Humanities: Erin J. Perez; Mathematics, Computers and Engineering: José M. Rendon; Physical Sciences: Christian J. Pérez; Social and Behavioral Sciences: Raúl A. Ramos Jr.

Second Prize, Graduate Education: Annette G. Benavides; Health and Life Sciences: Raúl Uribe; Humanities: William J. Nolen; Mathematics and Information Systems: Juan J. Arellano Jr. and Social and Behavioral Sciences: Andrea D. Beattie.

Second Prize, Undergraduate Business and Management: Alejandra Avila; Education: Sonia R. Alvarado; Humanities: Denise Y. Benavides; Mathematics, Computers, and Engineering: Horacio De Leon; Health and Life Sciences: Yuliana L. Alcaraz; Physical Sciences: Luís A. Stagg and Social and Behavioral Sciences: Sandra K. Pruneda.

Third Prize, Graduate - Education: No Winner; Health and Life Sciences: Oneida Ibarra; Humanities: Lilia L. Eskildsen and Manuel Moya; Mathematics and Information Systems: Candelario Ramírez III and Social and Behavioral Sciences: José J. Valadez Jr.

Third Prize, Undergraduate - Business and Management: José I. Santos; Education: Brenda Gutíerrez; Health and Life Sciences: Sonya Azaldua; Humanities: Devenny D. Lupear and Holly A. Dykstra; Mathematics, Computers, and Engineering: Marty Reyes; Physical Sciences: Hector E. Ramírez, and Social and Behavioral Sciences: Erica L. López.

For additional information on the Conference or participating in the 2012 offering, please contact the sponsoring Office of Graduate Studies andResearch at 326.3020 or e-mail GraduateSchool@tamiu.edu

Journalists who need additional information or help with media requests and interviews should contact the Office of Public Relations, Marketing and Information Services at prmis@tamiu.edu