4 May 2012 12:00 noon - 2:30 p.m. WHTC 125

- I. Call to Order by Mr. Townsend at 12:04 p.m.
- II. Roll Call, Present: Mr. B. Townsend, Mr. J. Maxstadt, Dr. F. Rhodes, Dr. M. Bennett, Dr. G. Clarke, Dr. S. Duffy, Ms. V. Garcia, Dr. L. Hemmer, Dr. J. Kilburn, Dr. K. Lewis, Dr. H. Mandal, Dr. M. Moran, Dr. M. Muñoz, Dr. Q. Ni, Dr. J. Norris, Dr. L. Prieto, Dr. A. Ramirez, Dr. C. San Miguel, Dr. M. Vargas
- III. Our guests Mr. Oscar Reyna (University Registrar), Dr. Deborah Blackwell (Director of University Honors Program) and Mr. Leebrian Gaskins (Associate VP, Office of Information Technology) were given the floor.

Mr. Reyna:

Mr. Reyna was asked to give the Senate an update on his work with OIT to put in place a system of controls to prevent the problem of students taking courses without having the proper prerequisites. Mr. Reyna announced that he will be working with OIT throughout the summer in order to prepare a report through Banner of students who may be enrolled in Fall 2012 courses without having completed all of the necessary prerequisites. This information could then be forwarded to the Deans and appropriate Department Chairs. A concern was presented that people (faculty and/or staff) were allowing students to have exceptions to courses who were not authorized to do so. Mr. Reyna was invited to come to the September Faculty Senate meeting to do a followup on this work.

Dr. Blackwell:

Dr. Blackwell presented the Senate with a document that highlighted numerous proposed changes to the University Honor Code. Changes that were discussed included:

- Adding additional student members to the Honor Council pool in order to more easily make quorum. It was suggested that at least 2 faculty members should be present to make quorum.
- It was clarified that faculty serve 2 year terms and students serve one year terms on the Honor Council.
- A clarification that the Chair will always be a faculty member and the Vice-Chair be a student member.
- The timeline for student appeals, student hearings and for faculty to report a possible breach of the Honor Code was considered too short at 5 days. So 5 days was changed to 10 days in several places within the Honor Code.

- The faculty member who initiated the report be cc'ed the initial letter and the final letter sent to the accused student.
- Faculty should use the online ReportIt system to initiate a complaint.
- The second violation for any undergraduate student automatically goes to the Honor Council. First violations only go to the Honor Council upon student appeal. For graduate students the first offense goes to the Honor Council.
- Since the Honor Council does not give a grade as a penalty a number of the General Sanctions were changed so that the grade penalty was removed.
- The document name was changed to the "TAMIU Honor Code" to keep it consistent with the Faculty Handbook.

After discussion these changes were voted on and approved unanimously by the Senate.

Mr. Gaskins:

Mr. Gaskins was asked to address the Senate's concerns about the Technology Advisory Committee (TAC). Both the size of the committee and the lack of a faculty voice were the greatest concerns expressed.

It was suggested that the TAC be reconstituted as a committee to consist of:

- 1 representative from each of the 4 Vice-Presidents
- 1 representative from each of the 5 Academic Units
- 1 member of the Faculty Senate to serve as the Chair
- The CIO of the Office of Information Technology to serve as an ex-officio member

This was presented as a motion that was voted on and approved unanimously by the Senate.

Mr. Gaskins was also asked to forward a description of the makeup of the Distance Education Advisory Committee to the Senate for inclusion in the Faculty Handbook.

IV. The minutes of the March 30, 2012 Senate meeting were approved with some additions.

V. The 2011-2012 Faculty Senate was adjourned and the 2012-2013 Faculty Senate was convened for the election of the 2012-2013 Officers.

Our Elections Officer, Dr. Rhodes, presented the official list of the 2012-2013 Faculty Senate members and called for nominations for a slate of officers.

- Mr. Townsend was nominated for, and declared President, by acclamation.
- Dr. Ramirez and Mr. Maxstadt were nominated for Vice President; Dr. Ramirez was elected.
- Mr. Maxstadt and Dr. Bennett were nominated for Secretary; Dr. Bennett was elected.
- Dr. Hemmer and Dr. Rhodes were nominated for Elections Officer; Dr. Rhodes was elected.

The 2012-2013 Faculty Senate was adjourned and the 2011-2012 Faculty Senate reconvened.

VI. Committee Reports

Handbook Revision Committee:

Mr. Maxstadt presented a draft of a change in the Handbook that was discussed in the previous Senate meeting dealing with the presence and scope of a Faculty Advisory Committee in cases of a faculty member's failure to meet University standards. This document was previously sent out for an e-vote, but a quorum was not achieved. The changes were voted on and approved unanimously. It was also announced that the TAMIU Honor Code will be inserted into the Handbook in the next completed version. Mr. Maxstadt also accepted the charge of rewording the description of the Technology Advisory Committee so that it can be sent for a vote by the Faculty.

Budget and Finance Committee:

It was announced that the University Budget Advisory Committee will be meeting in the upcoming week to vote on the tuition increase. It was requested that the Committee look at the number of scholarships vs. tuition increases vs. money lost by reduced donations .

Ethics Committee:

The Committee will continue working with Dr. Blackwell and with University representatives on revising the TAMIU Honor Code.

VII. Ongoing Business:

Dr. Duffy was asked if he would send to the Senate some language for discussion regarding the use of personal technology by students in the classroom.

VIII. The meeting was officially adjourned at 2:30 p.m. and the 2011-2012 Senate was asked to remain for voting on the Teacher and Scholar of the Year.