The Education Code (Texas Education Code, Chapter 37) defines hazing as “any intentional, knowing, or reckless act occurring on or off the campus of an educational institution by one person or acting with others, directed against a student, that endangers the mental or physical health or safety of a student for the purpose of pledging, being initiated into, affiliating with, holding office in, or maintaining membership in an organization.”
Hazing is a crime under Texas Law. It is also prohibited under the TAMIU's own regulations. Hazing includes encouraging hazing, permitting hazing, or having knowledge of the planning of hazing incidents and failing to report in writing his/her knowledge to the director of SOLE. Both failing to report hazing and hazing that does not result in serious bodily in jury are Class B misdemeanors. Hazing that results in serious bodily injury is a Class A misdemeanor. Hazing resulting in a death is a state jail felony. An organization found guilty of hazing maybe fined $5,000 to $10,000 or, for incident causing personal injury or property damage, an amount doubles the loss or expenses incurred because of the hazing incident.
It is not a defense to prosecution that the person hazed consented to the hazing activity. A person reporting a specific hazing incident to the University is immune from civil and criminal liability unless the report is made in bad faith. This include immunity to student conduct charges. This State law does not limit or affect an education institution’s right to enforce its own penalties against hazing.
Examples of hazing include, but are not limited to:
Students who learn of hazing should report it via the TAMIU ReportIt form available at www.tamiu.edu/reportit
or to the following departments: