

# Meeting Minutes Tuesday, April 11, 2023 2 p.m. via WebEx

#### Attendees:

Aide Flores Aleen Gutierrez Alejandra Sauceda Alexander Castillo Amber Martinez Ana Gonzalez Ana M. Gonzalez Ana Manrique Ana Vargas Andria Hernandez Anna Elizalde Anna Garza Araceli Sandoval **Armandina Ramos Ashley Carey** Azeneth Vazquez Bernardo Hernandez Bernice Y Sanchez Blanca E Ramos Christa L. Elizondo Cihtlalli Perez Claudia Martinez Cristina Flores-Westerman Cristina M. Calderon Cristina Oviedo

Cristina M. Calderon
Cristina M. Calderon
Cristina Oviedo
Cynthia Martinez
Damaris Rivera
Daniel O. Salazar
Daniela Rodriguez
Denisse Garza
Elaine Almanza-Ortega

Elizabeth Rubio
Enrique Botello
Erica E. Perez
Erika Medrano
Francisco Vera, Jr.
Gladys Perez
Gloria Hernandez
Heather Benavides
Isabel De Leon
Ivan Giron

Ivana Zamora
Jacinto De la Cruz Hernandez
Jessica Cavazos
Jessica Tamez
Jhoanna Angeles
Jordan Cervantes
Jose Bernal Brosig
Jose Cardenas Jr.

Josefina Molina Juana E. Villagran Julio Medina Karla Leal Krista Quintanilla

Jose Serna

Kristina Valenciano Leonela Preciado Lori Rodriguez Lorissa Cortez Lyanne Hinojosa Maria Arce

Maria Blasco

Maria De La Garza

Maria Elena (Mary) Hernandez

Maria Julia Pena Maria Salazar Marissa Arce Martha Medina Mary Foster

Melissa J. Dominguez
Michelle Begwin
Michelle Espinoza
Miguel S Olivas
Nancy Ramos
Patricia Ornelas
Patsy Lopez
Perla Echeverria
Priscilla Martinez
Rebeca Litman
Rebecca Delgado

Rocio Garcia Gurrola

Rogelio Garcia
Rolando Tijerina
Ruben Mendez
San Juanita Vela
Sanaa Al-nasser
Sandy M Lugo
Selina Gonzalez
Stephen Duffy
Taryn Shehab
Vanessa Almaraz
Virginia Lopez
Yanira Olivares

**Executive Board**: Enrique Botello, Kristina Valenciano, Vanessa Almaraz, Patsy Lopez, Jessica Tamez, Daniel Berndt, Cihtlalli G. Perez

I. Welcome: Staff Senate President Enrique Botello calls meeting to order at 2:00 p.m.

### II. Review of March 2023 Meeting Minutes

Approvals:

- o 1st Motion Martha Laura Medina
- o 2<sup>nd</sup> Motion Cihtlalli Perez

### III. Treasurer's Report: \$3,208

## IV. Speaker/Presentation

- Dr. Stephen M. Duffy, Associate Provost/QEP Director
  - Look for comments on the 3 being the next QEP. Academic Advising,
     College Skills, and Service Learning are the top 3 choices.
  - Requesting general feedback on the three topics being the next QEP.
     Get some pros/cons.
  - Faculty Senate will be having a forum to discuss the topics.
- Special Programs Dr. Bernice Sanchez, Associate Professor
  - Wanted to share some music and words to provide a mental practice of disconnecting for mental relaxation.
  - Dr. Sanchez talked us through the mental relaxation practice. She also recommended the app Calm.

#### V. Staff Senate News

- Discover TAMIU Water Bottle Fundraiser Sales Final
  - Total of \$193 raised in sales.
- Bowl-a-thon Fundraiser Save the Date
  - Save the date for Staff Senate Bowl-a-thon on Friday, June 15<sup>th</sup>. \$125 cost per team. Email will be sent out in May reminding everyone to sign up.
- Paint-a-Pot Event Staff and Faculty Event
  - Supplies will be provided: terra cotta pot, paint, soil and seeds.
  - o If unable to attend, you can pick up a kit and take it to your office.
  - Please disregard Event cancellation email, it was an error.
- Book Scholarship Winner
  - Congratulations to Leonela Preciado!

#### VI. TAMIU News

### • IBC Keynote Speaker Series

- Neil Irwin on April 12<sup>th</sup> at Student Center Ballroom at 6pm.
- Dusty's Junior University Summer Camp, https://www.tamiu.edu/ce/summer-camp.shtml

### Important Dates

- SkyWarn Training Tuesday, April 18<sup>th</sup>
   https://www.tamiu.edu/adminis/safety/health-and-safety/index.shtml
- Last class day Monday, May 1<sup>st</sup>
- Spring Commencement Wednesday, May 10<sup>th</sup>
- TAMIU Enrichment Day Friday, May 12<sup>th</sup> https://go.tamiu.edu/TED

# VII. Open Floor

- Martha Laura Medina invited people to donate to Relay for Life.
- Outstanding Employee Service Award nominations due by Wednesday, May 3<sup>rd</sup>.
- Application for 2023-2024 TAMIU Leadership are open.

### VIII. Door Prize Winners:

- Maria de la Garza
- Juana Villagran
- Lori Rodriguez
- Jessica Tamez

# IX. Motion to adjourn

Meeting adjourned at 2:44 p.m.

- 1<sup>st</sup> motion Jessica Tamez
- 2<sup>nd</sup> motion Juana Villagran

Next Meeting: May 9, 2023 via WebEx