Page 16 - once-more-2

Basic HTML Version

their University contributions.
Dr. Ken Hung
, professor and chair, A. R. Sanchez
School of Business -- 2010 Faculty Scholar of theYear
Dr. Jacklyn Jeffrey
, associate professor, College
of Arts and Sciences -- Teacher of the Year for 2010;
Minnie Stevens Piper Award, 2010.
Dr. Kimber Palmer
, instructor, director of AACSB
Assessment, A. R. Sanchez School of Business --
Distance Educator of theYear Award, 2010.
Dr. Peter Haruna
, associate professor, director
of MPA Program, College of Arts and Sciences --
International Faculty Award recipient, 2010.
Dr. Jerry Thompson
, Regents Professor, College
of Arts and Sciences -- Zaffirini Medal for Leadership,
Dr. Haibo Wang
, associate professor, A. R.
Sanchez School of Business -- Faculty Scholar of the
Year, 2011.
Dr. Bernice Sánchez
, assistant professor, College
of Education -- Teacher of theYear, 2011.
Dr. Deborah Blackwell
associate professor,
College ofArts andSciences, director of theUniversity
Honors Program -- Zaffirini Medal for Leadership,
, associate professor,College
of Education -- Minnie Stevens Piper Award, 2011.
Dr. Peter Fuseini Haruna, associate professor
of Public Administration and director of TAMIU’s
Master of Public Administration program, was
one of five Committee members selected. He
completed his research during the 2010-2011
academic year in Ghana.
At GIMPA, Africa’s internationally recognized
institution of higher learning, Haruna taught
undergraduate courses and graduate seminars on
public administration. He also conducted nation-
wide research exploring how to connect good
governance ideals and principles to professional
public service education and training in a cross-
cultural setting.
Previous TAMIU Fulbright Scholars include
Dr. Rafic Bachnak, Dr. Stanley Green, Dr. Susan
Berdahl and retired TAMIU professor of history Dr.
José Roberto Juárez.
America’s flagship international educational
exchange program,The Fulbright Scholar Program
is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State,
Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. It was
created by Senator J. William Fulbright. Fulbright
recipients are selected on the basis of academic or
professional achievement, aswell as demonstrated
leadership potential in their fields.
continued from page 14
TAMIU Faculty Receive Awards,
for Service, Excellence
Exemplifying Excellence