Page 17 - once-more-2

Basic HTML Version

Texas A&M International University (TAMIU)
Regents professor and author Dr. JerryThompson
was selected as the 2011 Clotilde P. García Tejano
Book Prize winner for his latest book, “Tejanos in
Gray: Civil War Letters of Captains Joseph Rafael
de laGarza andManuelYturri.” It traces theTejano
Civil War experience through period letters.
Released by The Texas A&M University Press
(2011), the 160-page cloth-bound book compiles
41 letters and letter fragments written by two
Mexican Texans, Captains Yturri and de la Garza.
Dr. Thompson said the letters reveal the intricate
and intertwined relationships that characterized
lives of Texan citizens of Mexican descent in the
years leading up to and including the Civil War.
The Clotilde P. García Tejano Book Prize is
awarded to books about Tejano heritage that
bring attention to the history and contributions of
TAMIU’s Thompson Named
2011 Clotilde P. García Tejano
Book Prize Winner
TAMIU dean of the College of Arts and
Sciences Dr. Thomas R. Mitchell was named a
2010-11 Regents Professor by The Texas A&M
University System Board of Regents.
Established by the Board in 1996, the
Regents Professor Award program recognizes
employees that hold a record of distinguished
teaching combined with accomplishments of
research or other scholarly activity, making
exemplary contributions to their university or
agency and to the people of Texas.
Dr. Mitchell is president of the Nathaniel
Hawthorne Society
recognized scholar on Hawthorne. He
wrote Hawthorne’s Fuller Mystery (Amherst:
University of Massachusetts Press, 1998).
He joined the TAMIU faculty in 1998. He is a
member of Sigma Tau Delta and was charter
president of the TAMIU chapter of Phi Kappa
Dr. Mitchell joins Dr. Jerry Thompson
and Dr. Juan Lira as the third TAMIU faculty
member to be named a Regents Professor.
Only 144 A&M System faculty members have
been recognized with the Regents Professor
Dr. Mitchell Named 2010-2011 Regents Professor