x
  
  

English Studies at TAMIU

Killam Library

 

"Today a reader, tomorrow a leader." --Margaret Fuller, American author

 
 
The English program at TAMIU provides students with a solid foundation in literary history and analysis, while cultivating important career skills, such as strong writing skills, argumentation skills, time management skills, and critical thinking skills. Students in our major and minor programs study a wide variety of topics and time periods in courses that reflect the depth and breadth of literary knowledge of our faculty.


Follow the links in the menu to find information about our BA, BA with Grades 7-12 certification, the English minor, and the English MA program, as well as our course offerings, course descriptions, and research links.
 


Faculty Spotlight

Click here to learn more about our faculty!

We will be featuring a different faculty member each week during the spring 2017 semester.


English Faculty



Dr. Manuel Broncano
DR. MANUEL BRONCANO

Regents Professor
AIC 348
(956) 326-2471
manuel.broncano@tamiu.edu

Areas of Interest: American literature, American film

Dr. John Dean
DR. JOHN E. DEAN

Associate Professor
AIC 352
(956) 326-2473
john.dean@tamiu.edu

Areas of Interest: American literature, literature of the borderlands

 
Dr. Robert Haynes
DR. ROBERT HAYNES

Professor
AIC 350
(956) 326-2603
rhaynes@tamiu.edu

Areas of Interest: Medieval and Renaissance British literature, Shakespeare


 Kaitlyn Culliton
DR. KAitlyn Culliton

Assistant Professor
AIC 333
(956) 326-2647
kaitlyn.Culliton@tamiu.edu

 Adam Kozaczka
DR. Adam Kozaczka

Assistant Professor
AIC 331
(956) 326-3300
Adam.Kozaczka@tamiu.edu

Dr. Kevin Lindbergh
DR. KEVIN LINDBERG

Associate Professor
KL 333A
(956) 326-2601
klindberg@tamiu.edu

Areas of Interest: 16th & 17th-Century British Literature, Bible as Literature


Dr. Thomas Mitchell
DR. THOMAS R. MITCHELL

Regents Professor
KL 329A
(956) 326-2633
tmitchell@tamiu.edu 

Areas of Interest: American Literary Renaissance

Dr. Jonathan Murphy
DR. JONATHAN W. MURPHY

Associate Professor
AIC 378
(956) 326-2602
jonathan.murphy@tamiu.edu

Areas of Interest: American Renaissance and Critical Theory


Dr. Paul Niemeyer
Areas of Interest: Thomas Hardy, British Literature 1800-1930

Mr. William J. Nolen

Areas of Interest: Comparative Literature- Antiquity, 19th and 20th Centuries
Nathaniel Racine
DR. Nathaniel Racine

Assistant Professor
AIC 325
(956) 326-2642
Nathaniel.Racine@tamiu.edu

Dr. Deborah Scaggs
DR. DEBORAH M. SCAGGS

Associate Professional Track
AIC 312
(956) 326-3033
dscaggs@tamiu.edu

Areas of Interest: History of Rhetoric, Early Modern British Literature, Shakespeare

Dr. Charlene Summers
DR. CHARLENE SUMMERS
Assistant Professional
AIC 326
(956) 326-2616
charlene.summers@tamiu.edu
 
Areas of Interest: Composition and Rhetoric Studies