The Division of Finance and Administration is committed to supporting the academic, research, and public service activities of the University by providing fiscal leadership and effective and efficient support services in a safe and appealing environment.

The Division is composed of dedicated employees who provide the needed support services to our students, faculty, and staff.  As a service division, it is our goal to provide the best customer service possible to ensure the smooth operation of the University.

Our team of professionals responsible for supporting the University's mission include:

Vice President for Finance & Administration Mr. Juan J. Castillo
(956) 326-2380
Associate Vice President for Finance & Administration Mr. Fred Juarez
(956) 326-2380
Office of Information Technology    
Associate Vice President of IT/CIO Mr. Miguel Munoa, Jr. (956) 326-2310
Director, Instructional Technology & Distance Ed. Dr. Pat Abrego (956) 326-2302
Director, Computing & Information Services Vacant (956) 326-2029
Office of the Comptroller  
Comptroller Ms. Elena Martinez
(956) 326-2378
Office of Budget, Payroll & Fiscal Analysis    
Director, Budget, Payroll & Fiscal Analysis Ms. Denisse Garza
(956) 326-2369
Assistant Comptroller, Business Office & Travel Ms. Maria Elena Hernández (956) 326-2816
Office of Human Resources  
Director, Human Resources Ms. Jan Aspelund
(956) 326-2361
Office of Grants & Contracts   (956) 326-2373
Director, Grants & Contracts Mr. Juan Cisneros, III
(956) 326-2373
Office of Purchasing & Support Services    
Purchasing & Support Services Mr. Carlos Bella (956) 326-2346
Contract Management Ms. Cristina M. Calderon (956) 326-2347
Pro Card Coordinator Ms. Laura Echandy (956) 326-2343
Office of University Police    
Chief, University Police Department Ms. Cordelia G. Perez (956) 326-2100
Assistant Chief, University Police Department Mr. Roque Velasco (956) 326-2100
Campus Safety & Planning    
Senior Director, Campus Safety & Planning Mr. Trevor Liddle (956) 326-3310
Office of Environmental Health & Safety  
Director, Environmental Health & Safety Mr. Adrian Domínguez (956) 326-2576
Environmental Health & Safety Officer II Ms. Jessica Perez (956) 326-2190
Environmental Health & Safety Coordinator II Mr. Daniel Berndt (956) 326-2329
Auxiliary Services    
Printing Services Mr. Cesar A. Caballero (956) 326-2990
Mail & Central Receiving Mr. Bernardo Hernandez (956) 326-2356
Food Service, Aramark Mr. Carlos Rodriguez (956) 326-3054
Bookstore, Follett Ms. Cecilia Tijerina (956) 326-2980
Vending Ms. Cristina M. Calderon (956) 326-2347
Physical Plant Ms. Daisy Aguilera Navarro (956) 326-2325


Employees of the A&M System are required to report factual information suggestive of fraudulent, wasteful or abusive activities that may involve the System or any of its members. To report such activities, employees can call the A&M System Risk & Misconduct Hotline at 1.888.501.3850 or submit a report via the Internet at the System’s Risk & Misconduct Hotline (this link appears in the footer of most TAMIU web pages). Employees can also call the State Auditor’s Office at 1.800.892.8348 or submit a report via the Internet at sao.fraud.state.tx.us.

Office of the VP for Finance and Administration Annual Report

TAMIU Annual Report 2023