Posted: 9/18/96

Texas A&M International Honors Outstanding Employees



Two Texas A&M International University employees, Laura Moran-Lopez and Ricardo Ortegon, have been selected as recipients of the Outstanding Employee Service Award for 1995-1996.

A&M International President Dr. J. Charles Jennett announced the selection at a recent employee luncheon held in the University's Great Room.

Dr. Jennett praised both recipients for their exceptional job performance and exemplary service to the University.

Moran-Lopez, named Outstanding Classified Employee, is a Staff Assistant with the Office of the Assistant to the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs. She joined the University in 1988 as Administrative Secretary with the Small Business Development Center and later worked with the University's office of Border Business Indicators, the Texas Center for Border Economic and Enterprise Development, and the Graduate School for International Trade and Business Administration.

Ortegon, Outstanding Administrative Employee, is Associate Director of the Office of Enrollment Management and School Relations. He began working for the University in 1992 as a part-time Student Assistant in the Office of Admissions. He joined the University on a full-time basis in 1994 as Associate Director of Enrollment Management.

Moran-Lopez and Ortegon each received a commemorative plaque, $500, and an honorary designated parking space for one year.

Nominations for the Outstanding Employee Service Award were submitted by University employees. A Selection Committee comprised of recipients of the 1992-93, 1993-94, and 1994-95 Outstanding Employee Service Award made final selections based on job performance, outstanding achievements, special qualities, and other criteria.

Selection Committee members included Dr. Rosa Maria Vida, Dr. Sanjay Rai, Elizabeth Martinez, Lupita Mosqueda, Susan Nichols, Juanita Soliz, and Veronica Martinez.

For more information on the Outstanding Employee Service Award, call the University's Office of Public Affairs at 326-2180.

Office hours are 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Monday - Friday.