Posted: 9/10/97

A&M International Students Receive Trailblazer Scholarships



Three Texas A&M International University students received Trailblazer scholarships from State Senator Dr. Judith Zaffirini in ceremonies held in the University's Special Collection Room in the Sue and Radcliffe Killam Library.

The Trailblazer Scholarships recognize the leadership and initiative shown by more than 60 Laredoans who helped to champion the development of a fouryear University in Laredo. Those individuals were feted at a special reception and luncheon held at the University in 1995.

Senator Zaffirini said the scholarships are a natural extension of the Trailblazer recognition.

"These scholarships will empower these students to become trailblazers in their own right. We look forward to their continued academic success and to their attaining their higher education goals and career aspirations at Texas A&M International University," Zaffirini said.

A&M International president Dr. Charles Jennett agreed the scholarships are a fitting way to honor the support provided the University by the Trailblazers.

"These fine supporters dreamed of a four-year University that would serve the higher education needs of this community and beyond. That dream has come true and scholarships like these will help to assure that the dreams of those attending Texas' newest four-year University also come true. We encourage all University supporters to follow the Trailblazer Scholarship example," Dr. Jennett said.

The three students are Rosa M. Ramos, Doria E. Hicks and Elsa G. Ayala. Each was introduced and presented with her scholarship in the ceremony. Scholarship presenters were Miguel Conchas, president, Laredo Chamber of Commerce; Sharyn Jordan, Laredo National Bank, and Rose Delgado, area manager, external affairs, Southwestern Bell Telephone.

An additional highlight of the event was the unveiling of a special commemorative plaque that includes the names of the Trailblazers recognized for their role and leadership in the University's development, Zaffirini said.

The 1995 Trailblazer Steering Committee members included Sen. Zaffirini, David Cardwell, Rep. Henry Cuellar, Elvia Gonzales, Billy Hall, J. J. And Minnie Dora Haynes, Jorge Haynes, Sharyn Jordan, Elmo Lopez Jr., Gil Lopez, Paty Orduna, Dr. Janet K. Black and Mary Trevino.

Journalists who need additional information or help with media requests and interviews should contact the Office of Public Affairs and Information Services at pais@tamiu.edu