Posted: 11/18/98

Dusty Fun Run Posts Record Success at A&M International



Texas A&M International University's Fourth Annual Dusty Fun Run and Walk benefiting Student Scholarships posted its largest participation to date with 185 runners and walkers participating.

"We are delighted with the response from our community. We had participants from as far away as Monterrey and we appreciate their commitment to helping raise funds for student scholarships," said University president Dr. Charles Jennett.

"Participants in this event, in concert with our fine corporate sponsors, are helping the University to assure that no student is denied a four-year University education because of financial barriers and we salute their support of this effort.

Corporate sponsors for the event included Central Power and Light, Aguirre Corporation (Dallas), Falcon National Bank, H-E-B Grocery Company , Norwest Bank and NBC Bank of Laredo. Local KGNS-TV weatherman Richard "Heatwave" Berler is this year's honorary chair of the event and led the day's walkers. A variety of University partners provided door prizes for the event.

Participants in the event could choose from a competitive 5 or 10K runs, in addition to a non-competitive two-mile Fun Walk. Participants ranged in age from under seven to over 70.

The Overall Male 5 K Best of Race went to Mauricio Gudiño with a time of 15:34. Overall Female 5K Best of Race went to Brittany Wright, finishing at21:41.

The Overall Male 10 K Best of Race went to Rolando Cruz with a time of 35:58. Overall Female 10 K Best of Race was awarded to Patti Weber with a finishing time of 47.01.

Participants receiving trophies for first through third places in various categories for both 5 and 10K are as follows:

5 K, Male

Male Under 21 - 5 K

1.Oscar Trevino, 2. Adrian Romanos, 3.Carlos Sanchez

Male 21-29

1.Maurice Gudiño, 2. Benny Rodriguez, 3. Alex Mendoza

Male 30-39

1. Bill Hrncir, 2. Kush Samtani, 3. Jesus Rocha

Male 40-49

1.Gary Unzeitig, 2. Andres Garcia, 3. Ronald Anderson

Male 50-59

1. Rudy Natera, 2. Elias Mendiola, 3. Ramiro Barrera

Male 60-69

1.Frank McKinnis. No second or third place awarded.

Male 70 and above

1. Rafael Lecuona, 2. George Bennett. No third place awarded.

10K, Male

Male Under 21

1. Jose Burrola, 2. Erik Casas, 3. Mikkel Pena

Male 21-29

1.Victor Moreno, 2. Agustin Contreras, 3. Manuel Gamboa Jr.

Male 30-39

1.Juan Carlos Salinas, 2. Rodolfo Mendoza, 3. Javier Villa

Male 40-49

1.Felipe Esparza, 2. Richard Sames, 3. Roby Freeman

Male 50-59

1.Manuel Gamboa, 2. Alfredo Zarate, 3.Juan Lira

Male 60-69

1.Rosendo Rodriguez, 2. Ignacio Garcia. No third place awarded.

5 K, Female

Female Under 21 - 5 K

1.Brittany Wright, 2.Trishna Stock, 3. Vania Samantha Lara Martinez

Female 21-29

1.Cynthia Laura Ruiz. No second or third place.

Female 30-39

1. Guadalupe Martinez, 2. Minali Samtani, 3. Raquel Lopez

Female 40-49

1. Martha Eakin. No second or third place.

Female 70 and above

1. Ilse Lehr. No second or third place.

10K, Female

Female Under 21

1. Elsa Gomez. No second or third place.

Female 21-29

1. Alejandra Santiago, 2. Claudia Gamboa. No third place awarded.

Female 30-39

1. Patty Weber, 2. Maribel Garcia, 3. Diana Ceballos

Female 40-49

1. Sandra Esparza, 2. Victoria Botello. No third place awarded.

Female 60-69

1. Kay Duplichan. No second or third place awarded.

Next year's Fifth Annual Dusty Fun Run and Walk for Student Scholarships at Texas A&M International University has been scheduled for Nov. 13, 1999.

For additional information, please contact the Office of Institutional Advancement at 326-2175.

University office hours are from 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday - Friday.

Journalists who need additional information or help with media requests and interviews should contact the Office of Public Affairs and Information Services at pais@tamiu.edu