Posted: 3/21/02

Eight TAMIU Profs Nominated For Piper Professor Honors



Eight Texas A&M international University faculty members have been nominated for consideration for the prestigious Piper Professor Honor by the Piper Foundation.

The nominations were announced by the University's Committee on Committees of the Faculty Senate, chaired by Dr. Kimberly A. Folse, associate professor of sociology.

Nominations were based on long term commitment to teaching, personal teaching philosophies and teaching effectiveness. Of the eight faculty members nominated, the top two will be named at Fall Convocation Ceremonies with one name forwarded to the Piper Foundation for selection. If selected, the recipient could receive a $5,000 award.

The TAMIU Piper Professor Nominees are:

College of Arts and Humanities - Dr. Marian Aguilar and Dr. Dean Champion.

College of Business Administration - Dr. Stephen Lunce.

College of Education - Dr. Randal Brown, Dr. Humberto González, Dr. Juan Lira and Dr. Miroslava Vargas.

College of Science and Technology - Dr. Doris Rosenow.

Among previous Piper Professor Award recipients at TAMIU are Dr. Jerry Thompson, dean, College of Arts and Humanities.

For additional information, please contact the Office of Public Affairs and Information Services at 326.2180, email prmis@tamiu.edu or visit offices in Killam Hall 268. University office hours are from 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday-Friday.


Journalists who need additional information or help with media requests and interviews should contact the Office of Public Affairs and Information Services at prmis@tamiu.edu