Skip to content
TAMIU Prof Among 10 Inducted into A&M Chancellor’s Academy of Teacher Educators Posted: 1/07/16

TAMIU Prof Among 10 Inducted into A&M Chancellor’s Academy of Teacher Educators


Sumalai Maroonroge

A Texas A&M International University (TAMIU) faculty member is among 10 exemplary faculty members from Texas A&M University System institutions selected to join the Chancellor’s Academy of Teacher Educators in 2016.

The Academy recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to the field of teacher education and highlights the A&M System’s role in producing K-12 teachers for the State of Texas.

Dr. Sumalai Maroonroge, TAMIU College of Education associate professional, has been named to the august group.

A&M Chancellor John Sharp commended those selected.

“Because of the hard work our faculty put into preparing teachers for the classroom, The Texas A&M University System is known throughout the country for producing some of the best teachers.  Through the Academy, we recognize those who have worked tirelessly to ensure that students are equipped with the experience and knowledge necessary to become top-quality teachers themselves. I am proud to honor and welcome the latest inductees,” Sharp said.

Dr. Maroonroge, who joined the TAMIU faculty in 2010, focuses on communication disorders.  Her specialties are electro-physiology assessment, vestibular testing and rehabilitation. Her interests include outcome measurements in speech pathology and audiology. Currently, her research focuses on hearing loss and diabetics, resonance of the tympanic membrane, deaf culture and ethical practice in audiology.

She earned her doctorate at the University of Tennessee.

Past Academy members help select the latest inductees. University faculty, staff and students are able to nominate any full-time faculty member who has had a significant impact on the preparation of teachers.

Academy members each receive a $1,000 stipend, commemorative medallion, and a certificate. The new inductees will be officially recognized at the Chancellor’s Century Council Annual Meeting in Austin in March.

TAMIU Dean of the College of Education, Dr. Catheryn Weitman, concurred with Dr. Maroonroge’s selection.

“Dr. Maroonroge is a sterling addition to our faculty and her teaching, leadership and research are an asset to us all.  We are pleased that her commitment and expertise are being recognized by her Academy peers,” Dr. Weitman said.

Joining Maroonroge in the Academy are Dr. Jane Schielack, Texas A&M University; Dr. David Brown, Texas A&M University-Commerce; Dr. Anita Castañeda, Tarleton State University; Dr. Elsa Diego-Medrano, West Texas A&M University; Dr. Randall Williams, Texas A&M University-Kingsville; Dr. Frank Lucido, Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi; Dr. Sara Lawrence, Texas A&M University-Texarkana; Dr. Deborah Davis, Texas A&M University-Central Texas, and Dr. Amy Porter, Texas A&M University-San Antonio.

About the A&M SystemThe A&M System is one of the largest systems of higher education in the nation, with a budget of $4.2 billion. Through a statewide network of 11 universities, seven state agencies, two service units and a comprehensive health science center, the A&M System educates more than 137,000 students and makes more than 22 million additional educational contacts through service and outreach programs each year. System-wide, externally funded research expenditures exceed $932 million and help drive the state’s economy.