Skip to content
TAMIU Professors Receive Awards Posted: 9/23/16

TAMIU Professors Receive Awards


Dr. Steve Sears
Dr. Steve Sears, Dean of the Sanchez School of Business  

Four Texas A&M International University (TAMIU) professors were recently recognized for their dedication to education. The awards were presented at the TAMIU Faculty and Administrative Staff Assembly held at the start of the fall semester.

Dr. Alia Paroo, assistant professor, history, College of Arts and Sciences (COAS), was named the recipient of the University’s 2016 Teacher of the Year Award.

 TAMIU A.R. Sanchez, Jr. School of Business Dean Dr. Steve Sears was named recipient of the University’s 2016 International Faculty Award.

 The University’s 2016 Scholar of the Year Award went to Dr. Quigwen Ni, associate professor, mathematics, COAS department of mathematics and physics.

Dr. Maria D. Viloria, assistant professor, TAMIU College of Education, received the Instructional Technology Excellence Award from the TAMIU Office of Institutional Technology.

University administrators also handed out TAMIU Service Awards, including a 30-Year Service Award to Dr. Frances G. Rhodes, associate professor, English, and a 40-Year Service Award to Juanita Soliz, special assistant to the president.

Other members of the faculty and administrators were recognized for promotions.

 For more information, contact the Office of Public Relations, Marketing and Information Services at or 326.2180 or visit offices in Sue and Radcliff Killam Library 268.

University office hours are 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. Monday – Friday.

 Additional information is also available at and on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube.

Dr. Alia Paroo
Dr. Alia Paroo
Dr. Lourdes Viloria
Dr. Lourdes Viloria
Dr. Qingwen Ni
Dr. Qingwen Ni