Posted: 9/07/17

TAMIU Professors Receive Awards



For their dedication to scholarship and education, five Texas A&M International University (TAMIU) professors received awards at the TAMIU Faculty and Administrative Staff Assembly and at the TAMIU Freshmen Fall Convocation.

Dr. Jonathan Murphy, assistant professor, English, College of Arts and Sciences (COAS), was named the recipient of the Instructional Technology Excellence Award given by TAMIU’s Office of Instructional Technology.

TAMIU Regents Professor of English Dr. Manuel Broncano was named recipient of the University’s International Faculty Award.

The University’s Scholar of the Year Award went to Dr. Frances Bernat, professor, criminal justice, COAS Department of Social Sciences.

At Convocation, Dr. Rob Evans, associate professor, marketing, TAMIU A. R. Sanchez School of Business Division of International Banking and Finance Studies, was named Distinguished Teacher of the Year.

Also at Convocation, College of Nursing and Health Sciences Dean Dr. Glenda Walker received the Dr. Judith Zaffirini Medal.

For more information, contact the Office of Public Relations, Marketing and Information Services at prmis@tamiu.edu or 326.2180 or visit offices in Sue and Radcliff Killam Library 268.

University office hours are 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. Monday – Friday.

Additional information is also available at www.tamiu.edu and on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube.


 2017-2018 Faculty Award Winners

TAMIU Professors Recognized 

Texas A&M International University (TAMIU) recently recognized five professors for their dedication to education. TAMIU president Dr. Pablo Arenaz, third from left, congratulates the recipients—TAMIU associate professor of Marketing Dr. Rob Evans, TAMIU College of Nursing and Health Sciences dean Dr. Glenda Walker, TAMIU assistant professor of English Jonathan Murphy, and TAMIU Regents Professor of English Dr. Manuel Broncano. Not pictured is Dr. Frances Bernat, professor, criminal justice, College of Arts and Sciences, department of Social Sciences, named the University’s Scholar of the Year.