Skip to content
Top Author, Philosopher Martha Nussbaum Leads Presidential Lecture Series Wednesday @TAMIU Posted: 1/04/18

Top Author, Philosopher Martha Nussbaum Leads Presidential Lecture Series Wednesday @TAMIU


Dr. Martha Nussbaum
Dr. Martha Nussbaum  

One of the world’s pre-eminent philosophers, Dr. Martha C. Nussbaum, will lead the next Texas A&M International University Presidential Lecture Series this Wednesday, Feb. 7 at 6:30 p.m. in the Center for the Fine and Performing Arts’ Recital Hall.

The Lecture is free of charge and open to the public.  The Lecture title is the timely “Anger and The Politics of Blame.”

Her latest book is “Anger and Forgiveness: Resentment, Generosity, Justice” and available for purchase at the TAMIU Bookstore. Copies will also be available at the Feb. 7 lecture.

“The opportunity for our students and community at large to share a thought-provoking experience with one of our planet’s most inspiring philosophers is rare, and I encourage all to join us for this special opportunity,” said TAMIU president Dr. Pablo Arenaz.

Dr. Nussbaum is the Ernst Freund Distinguished Service Professor of Law and Ethics at the University of Chicago, appointed in Law, Philosophy, and Divinity.  Martha C. Nussbaum received her BA from NYU and her MA and PhD from Harvard.  She has taught at Harvard University, Brown University, and Oxford University. 

From 1986 to 1993, while teaching at Brown, she was a research advisor at the World Institute for Development Economics Research, Helsinki, a part of the United Nations University.  She has chaired the American Philosophical Association’s Committee on International Cooperation, the Committee on the Status of Women, and the Committee for Public Philosophy. 

She has received honorary degrees from 56 colleges and universities in the US, Canada, Latin America, Asia, Africa, and Europe, including Lawrence University, Williams College, the University of Athens (Greece), the University of St. Andrews (Scotland), the University of Edinburgh (Scotland), Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (Belgium), the University of Toronto, the Ecole Normale Supérieure (Paris), the University of Haifa (Israel), Emory University, the University of Bielefeld (Germany), Ohio State University, Georgetown University, the University of the Free State (South Africa), the university of Jyväskylä (Finland), and the Universidad Iberoamericana (Mexico).

Her books include Aristotle's De Motu Animalium (1978), The Fragility of Goodness: Luck and Ethics in Greek Tragedy and Philosophy (1986, updated edition 2000), Love's Knowledge (1990), The Therapy of Desire (1994, updated edition 2009), Poetic Justice (1996), For Love of Country (1996), Cultivating Humanity: A Classical Defense of Reform in Liberal Education (1997), Sex and Social Justice (1998), Women and Human Development (2000), Upheavals of Thought: The Intelligence of Emotions (2001), Hiding From Humanity: Disgust, Shame, and the Law (2004).

Also, Frontiers of Justice: Disability, Nationality, Species Membership (2006), The Clash Within: Democracy, Religious Violence, and India’s Future (2007), Liberty of Conscience: In Defense of America’s Tradition of Religious Equality (2008), From Disgust to Humanity: Sexual Orientation and Constitutional Law (2010), Not For Profit: Why Democracy Needs the Humanities (2010), Creating Capabilities: The Human Development Approach (2011), The New Religious Intolerance: Overcoming the Politics of Fear in an Anxious Age (2012), Philosophical Interventions: Book Reviews 1985-2011 (2012), Political Emotions: Why Love Matters for Justice (2013), and Anger and Forgiveness: Resentment, Generosity, Justice (2016) and Aging Thoughtfully (2017).  She has also edited 21 books.

Nussbaum is an Academician in the Academy of Finland, a Fellow of the British Academy, and a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the American Philosophical Society. Among her awards are the Grawemeyer Award in Education (2002), the Centennial Medal of the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences at Harvard University (2010), the Prince of Asturias Prize in the Social Sciences (2012), the American Philosophical Association's Philip Quinn Prize (2015), the Kyoto Prize in Arts and Philosophy (2016), and the NEH Jefferson Lecture (2017).

The TAMIU Presidential Lecture Series is an occasional series that affords participants unparalleled opportunities to share in elevating experiences that advance insight and engagement and is open to all.

For additional information, contact the TAMIU Office of Public Relations, Marketing and Information Services at 956.326.2180, email or click on

University news and additional resources are available on the University’s social media sites including Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube.

University office hours are from 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. Monday-Friday.

Related News

Unable to retrieve related news.