Posted: 9/26/22

TAMIU Selected to Receive Betty Flores Academy of Honor Scholarship by Farm Credit Bank of Texas



Texas A&M International University (TAMIU) has been selected to receive the Betty Flores Academy of Honor Scholarship in the amount of $25,000 thanks to the generosity of Farm Credit Bank of Texas.

Farm Credit Bank of Texas serves the credit needs of farmers, ranchers, agribusiness and rural homeowners throughout the states of Texas, Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi and New Mexico. The Academy of Honor is an award the Bank presents to those who have distinguished themselves in service and leadership to Farm Credit and the agriculture industry.

Betty Flores, who was awarded this honor for 2022, has chosen TAMIU as the scholarship recipient.

Flores served on the Farm Credit Bank of Texas board of directors for 14 years. Among her contributions as a board member, she advocated for Farm Credit' involvement in Minorities in Agriculture, Natural Resources and Related Sciences (MANRRS). She is also a former mayor of Laredo, having served in that role from 1998 to 2006 while cheering the development of the University.


 Betty Flores


As the benefactor of the Scholarship, TAMIU has selected five recipients to receive individual scholarships in the amount of $5,000 each. The recipients met TAMIU and Farm Credit Bank of Texas representatives and Flores at a special reception held at TAMIU's Helen Richter Watson Art Gallery.

Scholarship recipients and their areas of study are Jessica Ramírez, master of science in School Counseling; David Paul Wong, master of science in Curriculum and Instruction-Educational Leadership; Gabriela Martínez, master of Business Administration with a concentration in International Trade and Logistics; Anna Marie Robinson, master of Business Administration with a concentration in Management; and Nicole Reola Brown-Matias, master of Bilingual Education.

TAMIU President Pablo Arenaz said that TAMIU is honored to have been selected to receive the Betty Flores Academy of Honor Scholarship.

"TAMIU is honored to have been chosen to receive the Betty Flores Academy of Honor Scholarship," Dr. Arenaz said, "Betty Flores has been a champion of higher education in Laredo and has vigorously supported TAMIU's expansion over the years. This Scholarship is a testament to how she continues to assist our students and their future success."

Scholarship recipients' selection was based on the following criteria:

* Graduate-level students specializing in a field of study relative to agriculture and or business such as accounting, communications, economics, education, finance, management, and marketing.

* U.S. citizens with a minimum 3.0 grade point average at the undergraduate level or 3.5 GPA at the graduate level on a 4.0 scale.

* Recipients demonstrated to TAMIU's selection committee a need for financial aid to continue their studies.

* Students are enrolled for a full-time academic class load.

Farm Credit Bank of Texas and Capital Farm Credit, FLCA have consistently supported TAMIU since 2006. To date, their contribution to higher education equals $82,500.00 in student scholarships. 

For more information, please contact Athena Cortez, development officer, Office of the Vice President for Institutional Advancement, at 956.326.2168, email athena.cortez@tamiu.edu or visit offices located in the Sue and Radcliffe Killam Library room 260A.

University office hours are 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday-Friday.


Betty Flores, third from left, is pictured with Audrey Vásquez, Texas Farm Credit representative;  Anna Robinson, Scholarship recipient;  Gabriela Martinez, Scholarship recipient; Leo Rodríguez, Capital Farm Credit representative; and TAMIU President Dr. Pablo Arenaz.