x
  
  

Academic Advising Guide

Academic Advising is essential to your success at TAMIU. Academic advising is available to all students, including first-time freshmen, transfer, returning, and graduate students. Students should schedule an appointment with their advisor prior to registration.

Academic Advisors are here to:

  • Encourage you to complete your degree in a timely manner (or four-years),
  • Provide you with relevant academic resources.

Caution Icon During the advising process, students pursuing pre-professional programs should inform their advisors as to the program they’re pursuing.

Getting Advised

Undergraduate Students

Enrolled students can view their assigned advisor information in DegreeWorks. After entering DegreeWorks, your Advisor's Name can be found in the middle column within your Student Information.

DegreeWorks dashboard focused on the middle column of the three column layout

 

Go to DegreeWorks

 

Who's my Advisor?

If you have visited DegreeWorks and are still unsure about who your current advisor is, please contact the appropriate Office/College/School based on your classification and student status:

TAMIU Advising Offices

If you are a...

Contact

New, First-Time Freshman or Transfer Student

Office of Recruitment & School Relations

Current Freshman
(0 - 29 hours)

Academic Center for Excellence - Advising and Retention

 

Undeclared

Multidisciplinary Studies Major

Student-Athlete

Sophomore
(30-59 hours)

Academic Advisors from the College/School of your major:

College of Arts & Sciences

College of Education

A.R. Sanchez, Jr. School of Business

College of Nursing and Health Sciences

Junior
(60-89 hours)

Senior
(90+ hours)

Graduate Student

 Graduate School

 

Find My Advisor

Type your Advisor's name into the search bar. 

TAMIU Advisor List
Advisor Name Schedule Appointment College Location Email Phone
Alyssa Casares Calendar Plus Icon UC KLM 419D alyssa.casares@tamiu.edu 956.326.2974
Alyssa Martinez Calendar Plus Icon UC ZSC 222F alyssa.martinez2@tamiu.edu 956.326.2977
Amber Martinez Calendar Plus Icon COED PLG 302J amber.martinez@tamiu.edu 956.326.3148
Amy Rodriguez Calendar Plus Icon ARSSB WHT 206F amy.rodriguez@tamiu.edu 956.326.2824
Anabelly Sanchez Calendar Plus icon ARSSB WHT 204A anabelly.sanchez@tamiu.edu 956.326.2489
Cecilia Vázquez Calendar Plus icon COAS PLG 203E cecilia.vazquez@tamiu.edu 956.326.2710
Claudia Y. Garza Calendar Plus icon COAS PLG 203D claudiay.garza@tamiu.edu 956.326.2488
Daniel Rodriguez Calendar Plus icon COED PLG 302H daniel.rodriguez@tamiu.edu 956.326.3144
Daniela Maldonado Calendar Plus icon ARSSB WHT 213A daniela.maldonado@tamiu.edu 956.326.2825
Daniela Maldonado Calendar Plus icon UC ZSC 222K daniela.maldonado01@tamiu.edu 956.326.2785
Denise Jackson Calendar Plus icon UC ZSC 222C denise.jackson@tamiu.edu 956.326.2887
Erestina Vela Calendar Plus Icon COED PLG 302C erestina.vela@tamiu.edu 956.326.2427
Erika Noyola Calendar Plus icon COAS PLG 204F erika.noyola@tamiu.edu 956.326.2711
Felipe Rodriguez Calendar Plus icon CNHS CNS 111B felipe.rodriguez@tamiu.edu 956.326.3269
Gabriela Chapa Calendar Plus icon UC KLM 418C gabriela.chapa@tamiu.edu 956.326.2993
Gamali Caballero Calendar Plus icon COAS PLG 204B gamali.caballero@tamiu.edu 956.326.3376
Ithiel Benavides Calendar Plus icon UC ZSC 222L ithiel.benavides@tamiu.edu 956.326.2992
Itzamara Flores Calendar Plus icon UC ZSC 222D itzamara.flores@tamiu.edu 956.326.2938
Jeremias Garcia Calendar Plus icon COAS PLG 204E jeremiasg.garcia@tamiu.edu 956.326.2650
Jesus Ruiz Calendar Plus icon COAS PLG 204C jesus.ruiz@tamiu.edu 956.326.2412
Jessica Verastigui Calendar Plus icon COAS PLG 203F jessica.verastigui@tamiu.edu 956.326.3374
Joe Garza Calendar Plus icon UC ZSC 222N joe.garza@tamiu.edu 956.326.2994
Jose Serna Calendar Plus icon UC ZSC 222J jose.serna@tamiu.edu 956.326.2910
Juan Balderas Calendar Plus icon UC KLM 419G juan.balderas@tamiu.edu 956.326.2801
Karen Castillo Calendar Plus icon COAS PLG 203A karen.castillo@tamiu.edu 956.326.3373
Kasey Moreno Calendar Plus icon COAS PLG 204K kasey.moreno@tamiu.edu 956.326.3372
Kevin Montemayor Calendar Plus icon COAS PLG 204 kevin.montemayor@tamiu.edu 956.326.3370
Maria M. Blasco Calendar Plus icon ARSSB WHT 204C maggie@tamiu.edu 956.326.2483
Mariana Mendiola Calendar Plus icon COAS PLG 204D mariana.mendiola@tamiu.edu 956.326.3115
Priscilla Guzman Calendar Plus icon COAS PLG 204J priscilla.guzman@tamiu.edu 956.326.3371
Rebecca Romero Calendar Plus icon COAS PLG 203C rebecca.romero@tamiu.edu 956.326.3377
Rebecca Stevenson Calendar Plus icon UC KCB 107J rebecca.stevenson@tamiu.edu 956.326.2851
Vanessa Kennion Calendar Plus icon UC ZSC 222E vanessa.kennion@tamiu.edu 956.326.2972